French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Love this! It turns ordinary sliced sandwich bread into a thick and rich french toast. And I don't have to stand and flip anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenica Roenneburg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Very good! So many ways to vary this recipe. I tried the original recipe first, which was great but I wanted a little more flavor. The second time I added cinnamon to the filling and more to the top. Today I added 1 cup blueberries to the filling, it was delicious! Can't wait to try raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
We had this for Father's Day brunch. It was a huge success! I did however increase the recipe and did things a little differently than the recipe called out. I used 1 1/2 loaves of Texas Toast bread, 12 eggs and put it all in a 10x14 pan. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of Nutmeg to the ingredients. First, I sliced the bread into 1" squares and then mixed the egg, milk and spices in a large bowl, then added the bread, mixing everything up together making sure all the bread was evenly coated. After it was placed in the baking dish, I used approx. 1/3 cup of butter and patted it around the top before covering the top with the remaining sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. This became a family favorite instantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Halved the recipe and baked in clear glass loaf pan for only 40 minutes. Big hit with my picky son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was really easy and really delicious. I made it with Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Bread, doubled the recipe and cooked in a 9x13 pan and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is a keeper. I followed directions, using butter instead of margarine (because I just like it better) and for the topping, I kept the sugar and cinnamon in their respective measurements, but added 1/4 tsp each of ground cardamom, ground nutmeg, and ground ginger. Otherwise, I followed the original recipe. It did take 60 min to bake, plus cooling down time. Definitely something to get started on early in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This recipe is very good as is. I find it very irritating when people change the recipe and then rate it. I’d like to say to them you didn’t rate this recipe you rated your own. Anyway, my family enjoyed it. I baked it in a 350 degree F. convection oven for 50 minutes and the center was done perfectly. Thank you STARFLOWER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I was looking for a great brunch dish & this was it! The recipe has just the right proportions of egg, milk, sugar & vanilla. I added extra cinnamon & a tsp. of nutmeg as well. My two day old potato rolls stood up well with the batter and I tweeked the recipe by topping the dish with a cup of fresh blueberries, 2 small sliced bananas & brown sugar crumbles made with the margarine. I used a lightly butter sprayed 9x9 pan. Baked covered for 45 min then removed foil & finished off for 10 to add a nice crisp to the topping. It came out thoroughly cooked & not mushy as some other reviewers experienced. This is a really satisfying dish that also makes a terrific dessert served warm with vanilla ice cream. An excellent recipe with great versatility & a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
My large, picky family loved this! I had the crusts/pieces from 4 loaves of bread that I needed to use and this made a great meal for all of us. I did let it soak for about 4-5 hrs to help moisten the crusts and we put syrup on top. Bonus was that we had enough left over (I 4X the original recipe) to eat for breakfast and all I had to do was pop it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
this is really good and easy to make too. I usually cut the recipe in half for just the 2 of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,050) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States