French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this and I loved it. My mom made a egg and sausage casserole and after trying this French toast one it looks like Christmas morning will smell like cinnamon and sugar mmmmm I am the host again this year no problem. One thing I am going to try is nutmeg in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Not as good as French toast, but can make a little bread go a long way. I would recommend using a dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Made exactly as written, yummy! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
As is, 3 stars. With modifications, 5. The idea is there - but I think there needs to be more clarity on the bread - esp for those who claimed mushy end results. Do not use white bread that is fresh - white bread is horrible- it practically dissolves when wet. Also the size of your cubes matter. Think large. I used challah bread (an egg bread). I've also used freshly made white bread from a bakery,which has more density, left out overnight to dry out a bit, and cubed 2 inch squares. Letting the mixed product sit out 10-30 minutes (in the fridge preferably) also helps ensure proper absorption, and reduces chance for sogginess. Increase your spices, adding nutmeg and 1 tsp more cinnamon, and sub brown sugar for white, increasing the depth of flavor to finished product. I found the end result much better than original, as I tried both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
There is no need to change this recipe. All the ingredients except for the margarine are good. I used butter instead. I used 3 day old home made whole wheat bread that nobody wanted to eat(except maybe the dog). However it worked perfectly (with Crusts) in this dish. It baked perfectly with the divine sugar/cinnamon crust, and no soggy middle. No one in family knew that it was the old hard bread I used. I served this with a sauce I made from fresh black and blue berries, and cream. My kids said it was one of the best breakfasts ever and we should have it more often. Thanks for sharing !! Its so so good -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Oh do I love this recipe!!!! I get up at 4am and have a 2 1/2 hour commute in the cold NY winter. I made this recipe on my days off and froze it to heat up in the morning during the week. This was so wonderful to have on cold morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
absolutely fantastic!!!! Made it exactly as directed and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Loved this dish, totally a keeper! Took someone else's advise and used vanilla creamer to replace some of the milk and added nutmeg and more cinnamon. My kitchen smelled like Christmas morning! I see this super easy and versatile dish on the "breakfast-for dinner" rotation. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I would like to say that I prepared the recipe exactly as is...but I didn't. I made A LOT of changes. And that was because of the reviews of so many others. First: I used Texas toast, but into cubes. I put them on a baking sheet in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes to lightly toast. Then I put them in a lightly greased 9x13 pyrex pan. I also used sugar-free French vanilla non-dairy creamer versus milk - this greatly enhanced the vanilla taste. I also put a little cinnamon in the liquid mixture. When I poured the mixture over the bread, I pressed on each piece to ensure the bread absorbed the liquid. Then I covered it, and put it in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I brought it to room temp, then dotted with softened butter and sprinkled the cinnamon/sugar mixture over the top. It only cooked for about 40 minutes, and I let it rest for 5 minutes before serving. No syrup was necessary. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,062) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States