French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
There is no need to change this recipe. All the ingredients except for the margarine are good. I used butter instead. I used 3 day old home made whole wheat bread that nobody wanted to eat(except maybe the dog). However it worked perfectly (with Crusts) in this dish. It baked perfectly with the divine sugar/cinnamon crust, and no soggy middle. No one in family knew that it was the old hard bread I used. I served this with a sauce I made from fresh black and blue berries, and cream. My kids said it was one of the best breakfasts ever and we should have it more often. Thanks for sharing !! Its so so good -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Oh do I love this recipe!!!! I get up at 4am and have a 2 1/2 hour commute in the cold NY winter. I made this recipe on my days off and froze it to heat up in the morning during the week. This was so wonderful to have on cold morning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
absolutely fantastic!!!! Made it exactly as directed and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Loved this dish, totally a keeper! Took someone else's advise and used vanilla creamer to replace some of the milk and added nutmeg and more cinnamon. My kitchen smelled like Christmas morning! I see this super easy and versatile dish on the "breakfast-for dinner" rotation. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I would like to say that I prepared the recipe exactly as is...but I didn't. I made A LOT of changes. And that was because of the reviews of so many others. First: I used Texas toast, but into cubes. I put them on a baking sheet in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes to lightly toast. Then I put them in a lightly greased 9x13 pyrex pan. I also used sugar-free French vanilla non-dairy creamer versus milk - this greatly enhanced the vanilla taste. I also put a little cinnamon in the liquid mixture. When I poured the mixture over the bread, I pressed on each piece to ensure the bread absorbed the liquid. Then I covered it, and put it in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I brought it to room temp, then dotted with softened butter and sprinkled the cinnamon/sugar mixture over the top. It only cooked for about 40 minutes, and I let it rest for 5 minutes before serving. No syrup was necessary. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Delicious! I recommend one less egg though. It tasted eggy with 4. Serve while hot with real maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
It was so yummy! I baked it until it was so golden at the top and it was so crunchy. I didn't make any changes to it expect I used olive oil spray and I love it and so did my sister. Will make it again that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZellyJara

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Awesome! Finally a casserole that doesn't have to be made the night before! I used a cinn raisin bread & instead of milk used flavored coffee creamer....my favorite trick! I then can eliminate adding the sugar & vanilla in the casserole. I made a double batch baking the 2nd batch in individual cupcake liners in muffin tins for a quick weekday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fromkateskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,018) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States