French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was simple and awesome. The next time I'm going to add a diced apple. Mrs. H suggested adding pineapple and banana, covered with shredded coconut. As with all French Toasts, letting it sit longer absorbs more egg "batter".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yummy and easy! I added fresh nutmeg and cinnamon, raisins and walnuts to the egg mixture. Fresh nutmeg and cinnamon to the sugar and substituted lavender sugar for regular. I substituted real butter...WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael A Johnson
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Delicious! I added roughly chopped walnuts and pecans to the topping -yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love this recipe...delicious...used slices instead of cube bread. And used fat free milk as well as sugar substitute...turned out great. Next time I will turn slices over after soaking with egg mixture, sprinkle with cinnamon mixture then bake. Turned out great at 400 for 22 min. Oh yea, added pumpkin spices too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
That was delicious! Very easy to make and did not take very much time. Everyone loved it and we decided that this will be part of Christmas day breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanafuda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Used homemade sweetbread and brown sugar, doubled the recipe, forgot the topping, and it was still 5 stars! Doubling the recipe it only served myself and my 2 girls who kept asking for more. Thanks for a great alternative to traditional french toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieFl
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I made this recipe as written, EXCEPT I used brown sugar and substituted butter for the margarine. I thought it tasted a little bland, and it came out soggy even after reading through the reviews and tweaking things. It looked pretty, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieFl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This was really good, soggy on the outside yes, but really good and crispy on the top. I did add nutmeg and I only had brown sugar. I only had a cup of milk and so I so I lessened the eggs to 3 and bread cubes to 4 cups of fresh sliced white bread. I think next time I will use more bread and all the eggs and just the one cup of milk. We served this hot out of the oven with warm syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The premise of this recipe rocks! It tasted fabulous and my family loved it. I do see how people would need to play it by ear with the liquid ingredients though. Different bread would absorb it differently. I added a little extra creme and eggs after I put it all in the pan. I also used heavy cream instead of milk and added a pinch of nutmeg. I used a 9x13 disposable pan covered with tinfoil for the first 30 min. I took the tinfoil off the last 30 min and the bread got just crispy enough!! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose C.
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I wish I could give this more than 5 stars the only thing I changed was the pan size to avoid the mushy center, we loved it. Cut the bread (french loaf) yesterday, mixed the egg mixture last night and put it together this morning and cooked it about 40 min and it was wonderful Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States