French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great brunch item when you want to serve french toast and don't want to be cooking while guests are there. But serving size is whack! I made 1.5X the recipe, and three of us ate most of it. And I even served some fruit & turkey sausage on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this Christmas morning, forgetting to sprinkle the additional 2 tsp of sugar and cinnamon, and it was still good! Wouldn't recommend doing that though, incredible after using all the called for ingredients. No real changes necessary, coming from someone who usually deviates! I use all organic ingredients including real butter, and Xyla sugar, a natural sweetener, which makes it better for those watching sugar and/or carb intake. Easy and excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was sooo good! It had an amazing texture, cross between french toast and bread pudding! I made this Christmas morning and everyone loved it! I didn't have any issues with it being too soupy in the center as some did; but I did make sure to select a sturdier french bread. The only things i did differently was add 2 TBS brown sugar and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the topping. Instead of just pouring the egg mixture over the bread, i tossed it quite well to make sure all the bread was coated and then let it sit for about 10 minutes before topping with the cinnamon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just made this recipe this morning and it was beyond delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly without making any changes. My family loved it very much. Will definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I'm almost 35 weeks pregnant and refused to slave over a stove on Christmas Day so I pulled this recipe out of my archive and am so glad I did! This casserole was too easy and so good! I prepared and baked it as is and made my own syrup...WOW!!! I almost didn't get any! Thanks for sharing something so easy, ill be sure to use this after the baby comes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Vela Ela Ela Eh Eh!!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This french toast casserole was tasty. I made prepared the first part Christmas Eve night. And as other suggested, I let it sit in the refrigerator overnight. Chistmas morning I sprinkled the cinnamon sugar topping on top before putting it in the oven. I did add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the egg batter. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This stuff is great! I made 2 batches, 1 exactly as explained and the other I substituted sugar with Cinnamon and Sugar. My family preferred the one with the Cin/Sugar to the original but both batches were eaten up in record time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was great ! I was a little hesitant because my husband doesn't like to try new things and he will only have white bread for french toast which I didn't have on hand however I did have left over white rolls from Thanksgiving and it was great,I'm thinkin left over hot dog buns or hamburger buns would be good also,have a few ideas for next time like some nuts sprinkled on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I actually made this recipe EXACTLY as the recipe specifies. I used store bought italian bread in the paper bag from the bakery. I used a glass dish to cook it in and the cooking time was spot on. Pretty standard flavors - it won't knock a gourmet's socks off. But the crispiness of the top and softness of the insides was a perfect contrast. My 13, 11 and 8 year just loved it! Especially since I made it for dinner. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This worked out great as written and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,044) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States