French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this. It reminded me of bread pudding. UPDATE: I just made this recipe again, but used a different casserole dish. You should really bake this in a shallow dish. It doesn't bake through well at all in a deep casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
After reading every review I decided to take everyone's advice, so I tweaked this recipe ALOT...and even added my own twist! I cut the eggs down to 4 and the milk down to 2 cups. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon powder and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. I also cut the vanilla extract down to 1 tsp. but added in 1/2 tsp. almond extract. I also added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I let the casserole sit overnight in the fridge before baking it for 50 minutes. I also topped it with sauteed apples, with cinnamon and chopped walnuts, after it was baked! With all these changes, it was VERY good! I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I have made this a couple times for different clients who have come to stay. By the time I get to dish up for myself, it is gone (I am talking scraped the bottom of my pans out). They all LOVE it. Added a little extra cin. and baked it about 10 to 15 min. longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Its a great dish...i add a small pack of cook and serve vanilla pudding in the mixture with only 2 cups of milk...your casserole will be cooked thoroughly ...;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martine Kauffmann-Scarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
i cut the milk down 2 cups and baked it 15 mins. longer. a nice change to traditional french toast. leftovers can be reheated on any morning and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I've made this dish twice for office brunches, and everyone loves it. I use white bread instead of cinnamon bread and just add cinnamon to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Made this for dinner last night & the house smelled so wonderful and my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Made this recipe for Christmas morning and everyone loved it. I made it the day before & then baked it in the morning. This was such a simple recipe to follow. We loved the cinnamon bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this for my daughter's school picnic. I used the Brown Sugar & Cinnamon Pepperidge Farm Swirl Bread. I also only soaked the bread in the custard mixture for 30 minutes.(running late) It came out great for the texture I was wanting. Syrup was optional, although I thought it made the dish. I brought home a empty pan. I still have people asking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was horribly bland. I was expecting more of a cinnamon taste based on the bread, but it didn't have it. If you want cinnamon flavor, add your own. It also was hard on the outside and undercooked inside (we got around this by serving the outside pieces then sticking the rest back in the oven to finish cooking). I've made other breakfast casseroles like this without the same problem, so it's not as if I was expecting more than the recipe should have delivered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States