French Tartiflette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This dish is often found in many high-end restaurants, but with quite a few things you can do to upgrade the flavor with common ingredients. Since the average person has to get their ingredients from supermarkets, Port Salut cheese is probably the best substitute for the difficult to find Reblochon. That said, you are MUCH better off using chopped Pancetta (which you won't have to drain) than bacon. A couple of cloves of garlic go very well in with the onions and bacon/pancetta. Also, I would recommend only half-pre-cooking the potatoes in step 1, then slicing them, and then frying them in withe the frying pan items before putting them in the baking dish. Perhaps most importantly, this dish was MADE for Thyme - add 1/2 tbsp of thyme to the cream and wine before baking too. Yummy! Great addition to the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Raclette cheese also works well as a substitute for the Reblochon, which is much more difficult to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
was VERY yummy! a quick warning...if you can find the reblochon like it calls for, it smells pretty nasty (a combo of sweaty feet and B.O) BUT the final product DOES NOT taste like you are eating feet! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was a fantastic dish and everyone at our get-together loved it. The Reblochon apparently is illegal to sell in the states, but if you go to a quality cheese shop then should know a good knock-off to replace it. The dish was superb and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very good. I couldn't find Reblochon at the places I hang out, so I ended up using Brie. Also made my own creme fraiche for the same reason. My finished product obviously wasn't completely authentic, but we enjoyed it anyway. I'd like to try it again sometime with the Reblochon cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good made it for dinner today wasn't exactly like how my French teacher described it but still tres bien, however i didn't have Creme Fraiche so i used sour cream still was excellent Good Work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Reblochon is a very regional cheese specific to the Alps. Which is what makes this an Alpine specialty. It will be hard to find Stateside. It is really good if you wait for the creme fraiche and put it on top of the cheese and everything the last 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Used a whole pound of bacon, but other than that made exactly as directed and was it ever wonderful! Husband took leftovers to work the next day for lunch and everyone asked what he was warming up since it smelled so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very nice dish and got plenty compliments at the True Blood potluck party tonight. I doubled the recipe and ended up using over a pound each of bacon and brie cheese(couldn't find any of the others mentioned) My creme fraiche didn't turn out and ended up using about 1/3 cup of sour cream instead. I found several Youtube videos of this dish and might try one of those next time. Lots of variations of this recipe. Most of them used brie which helps with the pocket book! Did I say cheese is expensive here in Hawai'i??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I have had Tartiflette in France, and this was a nice reminder. I had a little trouble with the bacon -- I think the dish could have done with more bacon, but that might be my faulty memory. I also think there could be more salt and pepper throughout the cooking process. I did put some on at the end, but it only affected the top of the casserole. I think adding just a little with each layer when assembling the dish would have worked better. On the whole, though, this was a great recipe, and I'm sure I'll make it again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

How to Make French Crepes

See how to make traditional Normandy-style crepes.

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States