French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used margarine at first but it was very bland so I added butter. It was really bland still, I even used chicken broth. I felt like I added a lot of salt, but once I added the spinach and cream, it was terrific:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VollmanBurton
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a restaurant quality soup. My boys don't like asparagus, so I substituted fresh green beans. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! I only made a few changes, just added some fresh-minced garlic to the onions and leeks, and once they were translucent, I added a heaping Tbsp of Ultragrain (Eagle Mills Brand) flour. Instead of water, used 1 qt of organic mushroom broth and 1 qt of organic veggie broth. Used a 1/2 cup of uncooked long-grain brown rice instead of 1/3 of white. We ate it with multigrain ciabatta rolls. Yum! Really rich if you make with cream. Next time, may just try soymilk, as the dairy can be a problem for us & our digestive systems. Loved the spinach in it! We just ate the last two bowls and it was even better (made it a few days ago) with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This has become our favorite soup, and my son and daughter HATE spinach and asparagus! They both say that when the two go together it reminds them of broccoli. Whatever it is, the soup tastes great! We fought over who got the last bowl full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Delicious soup! I was worried there wouldn't be enough flavor, but it was to die for - the way it's prepared really brought out the flavors of the fresh veggies. I substituted vegetable broth for the water, and added 2 cloves of minced garlic but otherwise I left the recipe alone. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Delicious light soup! I made the recipe as written except i did not add potato (personal prefference) and used half and half. I normally make awful soups so when I find a recipe that tastes awesome and is healthy....Im a happy girl! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
wonderful spring time soup! rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Delightful soup. Helped use up good groceries before going out of town for Mothers Day weekend. Vegatable stock in freezer was the base, used less than 1/2 tsp of salt, but added 2 cloves of garlic when sweating the onions. Added a drop of Red Hot & a sprinkle of Montreal Chix seasoning just before serving. Used about 1/4 cup of 1/2 & 1/2--just enough to for a light finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was YUMMY! I made a couple of changes as other users did: 16 oz of water and 16 oz of chicken broth. I added 3 large cloves of garlic and chopped the spinach prior to adding it. I allowed it to simmer to close to 40 minutes then added the cream and spinach. I added a loaf of Rosemary herb bread on the side and it was to die for. This one will be made again and again. We froze the leftovers, hoping they are as good the second time around! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLORA33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Fantastic soup. Like others, I switched out the water for chicken stock. The blend of flavors was subtle and balanced and so flavorful that I did not add any salt...it didn't need it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States