French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was delicious! The neighbours and severl friends have asked for the recipe. Living in algeria where aspargus isnt produced I had to improvise and used fresh garden peas and a tiny bit of bottled asparagus. The only thing I will change is the rice....I think having potatoes and rice in the same soup is a bit much....Thank you for such a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ang and sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I just love this soup, would have never thought this combination would work, but it is lovely. I did take a couple of previous reviewers suggestions. I used half chicken broth for the liquid (free-range, which I feel is more favorful). I also used half-n-half instead of full cream, it was very creamy. And I added a teaspoon or so of garlic powder. Yummm. I had three bowls the first day and have lunch during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was very good and I will make it again; however, if you look at the ingredients there is no seasoning other than some salt. It was very very bland (and I had even replaced half the water with chicken broth). I suggest, at the very least, adding garlic, lots and lots of pepper, and more salt at the end. I also added the juice of half a lemon. For me, topping it with some grated parmesan made it. UPDATE: Leftovers did not freeze well. The cream separated, the potatoes took on a weird texture, etc. Put it in the blender and it came out like a thick creamy soup, almost like split pea soup... and now I think I like it even better than the original!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
YUMMM! I too subbed low fat chicken broth for water, skipped the rice and added zucchini since I had some. I also subbed fat free half and half for the cream to reduce the fat content. VERY VERY GOOD ! Will definitely make again. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I've made this many times. A great soup recipe. The only thing I change is I use a can of asparagus instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
LOVED this soup! So did everyone else who tried it. I did only use milk instead of cream. I also substituted the butter for some margarine and water. I added garlic, mushrooms and some chicken bouillon cubes. Will be making again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a fantastic, flavorful, light soup! Only changes made: used all chicken broth vs water, left out the potatoes (didn't have any on hand), and used half-n-half instead of heavy cream (didn't have any in the fridge). Only used 3 tsps sea salt and about 1 tsp of Herbs de Provence. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a great soup! I seasoned it with seasoning salt, rosemary and majoram, to taste, used half chicken broth (as many other reviews suggested), subbed arborio for the white rice, and used half and half instead of heavy cream. It was a hit, very fresh tasting and flavourful. I can't wait to have the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I thought this was pretty good! A great way to get your veggies! I also added a can of garbonzo beans for some protien and used brown rice. I used all water, but then a couple cubes of chicken boullion and only needed to add 2t salt. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was an absolutely delicious soup and a breeze to make. I followed the recipe pretty closely but added some black pepper. Both my husband and I loved it well enough for a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States