French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Definately add broth instead of water. Added garlic and mushrooms. Also fresh herbs such as tarragon, a little basil, thyme, etc. -need for flavor. I used vadilia onion instead of leaks and added a little red bell pepper for color. My husband and daughter liked it. Also used the fat free evaporated milk. Just ate leftovers for lunch -- good healthy & light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Stock is a necessity. Also pepper and herb seasoning salt. This was delicious and easy. Great for impressing company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
very tasty and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
DELICIOUS! Sooooo good with no more seasoning added. The perfect word to describe it is fresh. I was a little sceptical, but its delicious. I halved the recipe and used fat free evaporated milk rather than cream. Will definately make many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is very nice to make when asparagus is in season; however, I am not a big fan of creamy soups, and I just couldn't stomach the idea of the heavy cream. I substituted a can of Cream of Asparagus soup for the cream and some chicken broth for some of the water. We thought it had very good flavor when made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
Made this soup last night. Nice flavor but seemed to be missing something, not sure what. Recipe makes a lot and probably doesn't freeze well with potatoes in it. I may or may not make it again, haven't decided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Harris, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I made the recipe and found it to be bland. My boyfriend agreed. I used concentrated chicken stock to give it some body which made a huge difference and then it was delicious. Loblaws in Ontario has an amazing chicken stock called fresh concentrated chicken stock and its great-like homemade. Oh I did use milk as well instead of cream. I always do that and it always works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Wonderful blend of unique flavors!!! I wouldn't change a thing. A pleasure for my whole family. All enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
good, but overated, if i make this again i will use all chicken broth and no water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
pretty good.. very elegant. doesn't keep very well as leftovers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States