French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Decent but overrated! I followed the recipe precisely, and the soup turned out very bland with mushy potatoes. The cream seems like an unnecessarily unhealthy ingredient; perhaps a healthier replacement would improve the recipe. When reheating leftovers, I added vegetable bouillon cubes which resulted in a much tastier soup. However, I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I also used chicken broth in place of 1/2 the water. Because of that I added only 1 tsp of salt. It was very yummy and fresh tasting. I also added evaporated milk instead of cream (because that is what I had. Very Yummy Potato soup, with extra veggies.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I quite liked this. It was quick & easy to make. I didn't add any asparagus and reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon as 4 teaspoons would have been way too much. Next time I will add some extra rice as it kind of got lost in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I don't believe this just has 4 stars. I've been on a soup kick this year and I've made some really great, great soups from this site and this is one of them - it may be our favorite. I followed the recipe only making the change of substituting chicken broth for the water and used really fresh veggies. Mmmmmmm -I can still taste the freshness of this soup. Thanks submitter - I will be making this often during the summer when I can buy fresh, locally grown vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This recipe is great, everybody loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Definately add broth instead of water. Added garlic and mushrooms. Also fresh herbs such as tarragon, a little basil, thyme, etc. -need for flavor. I used vadilia onion instead of leaks and added a little red bell pepper for color. My husband and daughter liked it. Also used the fat free evaporated milk. Just ate leftovers for lunch -- good healthy & light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Stock is a necessity. Also pepper and herb seasoning salt. This was delicious and easy. Great for impressing company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
very tasty and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
DELICIOUS! Sooooo good with no more seasoning added. The perfect word to describe it is fresh. I was a little sceptical, but its delicious. I halved the recipe and used fat free evaporated milk rather than cream. Will definately make many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This is very nice to make when asparagus is in season; however, I am not a big fan of creamy soups, and I just couldn't stomach the idea of the heavy cream. I substituted a can of Cream of Asparagus soup for the cream and some chicken broth for some of the water. We thought it had very good flavor when made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States