French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Both my meat-lover boyfriend and I loved this light but complex veggie soup. The asparagus and spinach make a delicious combination and the potatoes make it hearty. Following the suggestions here I used a combination of chicken and vegetable broth instead of the water. I added the cream at the end, and I think it certainly adds another layer to this soup so I wouldn't skip it. Also sprinkled it generously with cheese. Will get a nice crusty bread for the leftovers for tomorrow. Next time I make this I think I'll up the rice a bit so that it's noticable. With these changes it is an amazing restaurant quality recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I made this using watercress instead of spinach, and light chicken broth instead of water. I also reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon, and added about a cup of diced smoked ham, and a teaspoon of red chili flakes for a touch of spice. The resulting soup was more hearty than the original recipe, and served with hot bread, was substantial enough to be a meal in itself, yet not heavy on the digestion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Has a very fresh and light spring taste. I added the potatoes, cooked for ten minutes, then added the carrots, asparagus and rice so as to not over cook the asparagus. I used half and half water and chicken broth and no extra salt. My fiance loved this with fresh baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This soup was very good with a few minor adjustments. Replace the water with either low sodium vegtable or chicken broth. I also, added one tablespoon chicken broth granules for added flavor. Reduce the salt to one teaspoon and the heavy cream to 3/4 cup. This soup is a complete meal with a loaf of warm Artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I used vege broth and cut down on the salt. I think I shouldn't have put any salt in it. It was so salty, I ended up trying to dilute it. I put four stars, because I think if it hadn't been so salty the veggie blend w/o seasoning was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Decent but overrated! I followed the recipe precisely, and the soup turned out very bland with mushy potatoes. The cream seems like an unnecessarily unhealthy ingredient; perhaps a healthier replacement would improve the recipe. When reheating leftovers, I added vegetable bouillon cubes which resulted in a much tastier soup. However, I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I also used chicken broth in place of 1/2 the water. Because of that I added only 1 tsp of salt. It was very yummy and fresh tasting. I also added evaporated milk instead of cream (because that is what I had. Very Yummy Potato soup, with extra veggies.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I quite liked this. It was quick & easy to make. I didn't add any asparagus and reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon as 4 teaspoons would have been way too much. Next time I will add some extra rice as it kind of got lost in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I don't believe this just has 4 stars. I've been on a soup kick this year and I've made some really great, great soups from this site and this is one of them - it may be our favorite. I followed the recipe only making the change of substituting chicken broth for the water and used really fresh veggies. Mmmmmmm -I can still taste the freshness of this soup. Thanks submitter - I will be making this often during the summer when I can buy fresh, locally grown vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This recipe is great, everybody loved the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States