French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Just okay. Would be better with a dollop of sour cream and/or parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
A hit every time i make it, the prep time is way below how long it's takes me to make it, but well worth it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
YUM! I didn't have any leeks or spinach, so I used collard greens. The flavor of the broth is so good. I'm going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
The directions gave a good foundation for a soup (for me) but overall it needed spice. I substituted 1/2 of the water for only 1 can of chicken broth (which cut out a quarter of the broth for a heartier soup), added mushrooms, garlic, a little basil, thyme, and a bay leaf. Skipped on the rice because I wanted to use a crock pot and mushy rice isn't good for anyone. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I hate giving 3 stars when I didn't follow the recipe exactly. But the difference was I added mushrooms and left out the asparagus since it wasn't in season. I wasn't thrilled with this recipe at all, needed more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Wanted to use some fresh asparagus that was given to me by a friend. Asparagus is not on my husband's favorite list. Coming across this recipe in my search, I thought it might work. It did. My husband thought it was very good. Of course I didn't have all of the ingredients. I didn't have leeks or spinach. I added fresh chives from the garden with the cream. I happen to have cream, but next time I think I will try EVAPORATED MILK as another reviewer said. I think the CREAM OF ASPARAGUS SOUP idea also sounds good, but that might be pushing it with my husband. If you like your soup thicker, there is a Reduced Fat Potato Soup found on this site that uses a package of orignal COUNTRY STYLE GRAVY MIX. It thickens potato soup real well that you may even have to add either a little milk or water to desired consistency. I do like creamed soups. I may try adding CHEESE also. There are so many possiblities. I also had to use instant brown rice. Ten minutes is long enough to cook the vegetables in this recipe as long as they are diced small, and it isn't going to hurt the rice if it is cooked longer than ten minutes. I agree that more rice could be used if desired as other reviewers stated. Very good recipe Luanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Both my meat-lover boyfriend and I loved this light but complex veggie soup. The asparagus and spinach make a delicious combination and the potatoes make it hearty. Following the suggestions here I used a combination of chicken and vegetable broth instead of the water. I added the cream at the end, and I think it certainly adds another layer to this soup so I wouldn't skip it. Also sprinkled it generously with cheese. Will get a nice crusty bread for the leftovers for tomorrow. Next time I make this I think I'll up the rice a bit so that it's noticable. With these changes it is an amazing restaurant quality recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I made this using watercress instead of spinach, and light chicken broth instead of water. I also reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon, and added about a cup of diced smoked ham, and a teaspoon of red chili flakes for a touch of spice. The resulting soup was more hearty than the original recipe, and served with hot bread, was substantial enough to be a meal in itself, yet not heavy on the digestion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Has a very fresh and light spring taste. I added the potatoes, cooked for ten minutes, then added the carrots, asparagus and rice so as to not over cook the asparagus. I used half and half water and chicken broth and no extra salt. My fiance loved this with fresh baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
This soup was very good with a few minor adjustments. Replace the water with either low sodium vegtable or chicken broth. I also, added one tablespoon chicken broth granules for added flavor. Reduce the salt to one teaspoon and the heavy cream to 3/4 cup. This soup is a complete meal with a loaf of warm Artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States