French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Oh my gosh, so delicious. The only thing I changed was fat free half and half for the heavy cream, and olive oil in place of the butter (to save few cal's). Thanks Papergoddess for such a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I think this was too creamy. It smelled delicious before I added the cream. (I had used vegetable stock for the broth.) Maybe next time I'll just make it w/o the cream. Also didn't add the spinach because it was already very bulky before I got to that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Wow! We loved this! I did use only chicken stock and no water. I also added cut up cooked chicken tenders. I added grated fresh garlic in with the onions and leeks. I used half and half instead of cream. I also added several seasonings-salt, white pepper, Red Robin seasoning, garlic powder, and lemon pepper. I also added a few dashes of hot sauce. I didn't alter the veggies that I used. I used exactly what was written. I only subbed baby carrots as the grocery didn't have any big ones. I also used more rice than recommended. It made the soup thicker. I was awesome though, I must say. I made Italian bread to go with it. from this site (Italian Bread Using the Bread Machine). Everything was yummy and I felt good about eating all of those veggies! Leeks are one of the healthies things you can eat! We will be eating this at least once a month! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is a very good, nourishing soup, and worth all the chopping. Even though it lacks a meat, my husband just loves it! I too followed the 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water combo and added about a tsp. of white pepper. Wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DooDah2
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I made this soup yesterday and it turned out pretty well, despite the fact that I overcooked the vegetables and undercooked the rice. I used brown rice because that's what I had, but I foolishly added it at the same time as the vegetables. I think I'd like to try this with coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This is my favorite soup of all time. I believe it's the cream that gives the soup its unique flavor. I cannot get enough, and I am thrilled that my birthday is in Spring so I can enjoy this dish as a birthday lunch or dinner (or both).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great recipes! Although, I made some changes like other people. I added a garlic clove while sauting the onion/leeks. I also replaced 2 cups of water for 2 cups of chicken broth and I used half & half instead of heavy cream. We eated with a sliced of sourdough bread. Delicious!!! Next time I'll add some chopped grilled chicken at the end, since my husband needs some meat with his meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Just okay. Would be better with a dollop of sour cream and/or parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
A hit every time i make it, the prep time is way below how long it's takes me to make it, but well worth it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
YUM! I didn't have any leeks or spinach, so I used collard greens. The flavor of the broth is so good. I'm going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States