French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Yum! A vegetarian's dream. It's a very good use of the spring veggies.I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting half and half. If you are veg, but don't do dairy, rice milk would probably be okay. The potatoes help keep it thick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a fairly good soup but more of a base. It is lacking in flavor. I made as is to give it a fair chance and after tasting ended up adding garlic and some other seasoning blends I had on hand. If I make it again I will use chicken broth instead of the plain water I also might admit the cream since it didn't add anything to it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I put the soup together in about 30 minutes. It cooked for about 45 minutes after my prep. I used canned asparagus and omitted the carrots. I also doubled the rice. Served with some parmesan cheese on top and am eating it for lunch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a fabulous soup! Add some whole grain brown rice for a hutritional bonus. I prefer stock in place water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LupeCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wonderful! Used homemade chicken stock in lieu of water. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was an excellent soup! It's freezing rain and snow here as I write this, and craving a warm soup loaded with veggies fit the bill! Just a couple of changes. I used low-sodium broth in leu of water, I did not add the rice, and pureed about half of the broth/veggie mix in the blender before adding the spinach and cream. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Dang! This soup was fantastic, did the chicken broth switch and used alot more spinach. Next time I make this i thing im going to use some chicken or maybe some ham... mmmm ham ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was really good, but didn't keep very even after a couple of hours in the fridge. Not a very good dish if you're only cooking for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Oh my gosh, so delicious. The only thing I changed was fat free half and half for the heavy cream, and olive oil in place of the butter (to save few cal's). Thanks Papergoddess for such a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I think this was too creamy. It smelled delicious before I added the cream. (I had used vegetable stock for the broth.) Maybe next time I'll just make it w/o the cream. Also didn't add the spinach because it was already very bulky before I got to that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States