French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This soup was wonderful! Like so many other soups, it was best as leftovers after sitting a few days in the fridge. The only thing that I changed was to use a small can of evaporated milk for the cream, and then add a bit of potato starch for thickener. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this soup for supper tonight - and did make some modifications after reading some reviews. I used 1 1/2 quarts of chicken broth (instead of the water), and added lots of pepper, garlic powder (about 1/2 tsp), and Old Bay seasoning (I used 1/2 tsp - but could have added more - you could use any seasoning mixture). I used light instead of heavy cream, and also added 1 cup of skim milk (since I reduced the amount of liquid to cook the vegetables). It was very good - and I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I give this only 3 stars as I made it exactly as described and it was only "edible" at best. The only thing different was that I had no asparagus so I omitted it, but I'm not sure how much that would have changed the outcome for me. This tasted like salty milk with cooked veggies. The kids wouldn't eat it. I plan to try this again, but will DEFINITELY use broth instead of water. I felt the need for it while making it as the veggies were swimming in salt water, but really wanted to be true to the recipe my first time out. I really think that will be the "make it" or "break it" for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Took me significantly longer to chop the vegetables. I did not add the garlic that other reviewers suggested but did use half chicken broth. Needs something. I tried adding cheese in the bowls but that's not it. The next day slightly improved as others have noted. Maybe adding slightly less water and a can of cream of asparagus soup would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love veg soups and have been on an asparagus kick, so this one looked interesting. I used 2% milk in place of the heavy cream, which may have made a difference in taste, and used veggie broth instead of plain water. I also used a sweet Vidalia onion instead of leeks, and added a handful of baby bella mushrooms. I saved the asparagus tips for the end of cooking so they wouldn't get mushy. However, I think it needed more seasoning. Maybe garlic, seasoned salt, etc? Worth keeping and experimenting . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this yesterday four our Sunday soup lunch. As we are only 2 people, I used only about half of the ingredients. Instead of water I used vegetable broth and what I got was fantastic fingerlicking good. My wife also was excited about the taste of it. And it's ready within a short time. I definetely make this again. Thanks to Sanzoe for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My family loved this soup. I will definately be making this again. I added some ham for my son (he's very picky and liked the soup without asparagus, spinach, and leeks...he didn't realize there was onions too :) ). I'll probably reduce the salt next time too. It tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe. I have been using it for years. Word for word, from the NY Times cook book. It has been a staple in my house. For it ease and the beautiful aroma the soup breings to the house on cool spring day. The only thing I've changed was to add Veggi Cubes to the plain water, and at times use wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This soup is amazing! And I'm terrible at cooking soups. Made a few modifications, like adding garlic to the onions & leeks. Used whole wheat couscous instead of rice as I didn't have any rice. And really wished I would have chopped up my spinach cause the leaves are very large and tend to clump together. But amazing all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States