French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great soup. Use creme fraiche instead of cream and vegetable stock rather then chicken stock so that vegetarians can enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We're giving it 5 stars as we added made some VERY healthy changes thus making it completely GUILT FREE! Okay: omit the cream, omit the butter...not needed. Saute the leeks in extra virgin Olive oil and you're good to go. Make ALL water chicken stock (we used veggie chicken stock - amazing and a lot less sodium!) No extra salt needed, but add some black pepper for some zip. Thank you Papergoddess for a great recipe! We're full, we're happy and can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
YUM!!! This is a great soup recipe! I added a little garlic and black pepper, and I also had to use broccoli instead of asparagus since that is what I had. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great soup! I used chicken broth for half the water and felt it needed more salt in the end. All my guests raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and give it 5 stars. It's always nice to 'improve' any soup by adding chicken broth and garlic but this is meant to be how it is. The taste of the fresh asparagus is so nicely enhanced by the butter and leeks. This is a subtle dish but heavenly. Absolutely, a perfect Spring Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsy0504

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
very good but definately is missing something, I made it exactly as written. however I did find that garlic was the missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Top notch, just as it is. My husband (2nd time around) used to be married to a gourmet cook, so he's used to terrific dishes. I hate cooking, but I can read and follow a recipe. :) We both loved this soup. A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is a nice vegetable soup that's fairly easy to make. I made a few minor changes: subbed coconut milk for cream, quinoa for rice, and olive oil for butter, and per other reviews I used broth (veg) instead of water. Next time, I'll add more asparagus; it added a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This soup was wonderful! Like so many other soups, it was best as leftovers after sitting a few days in the fridge. The only thing that I changed was to use a small can of evaporated milk for the cream, and then add a bit of potato starch for thickener. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this soup for supper tonight - and did make some modifications after reading some reviews. I used 1 1/2 quarts of chicken broth (instead of the water), and added lots of pepper, garlic powder (about 1/2 tsp), and Old Bay seasoning (I used 1/2 tsp - but could have added more - you could use any seasoning mixture). I used light instead of heavy cream, and also added 1 cup of skim milk (since I reduced the amount of liquid to cook the vegetables). It was very good - and I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States