French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Half my family liked this and the other half didn't. Most didn't like it because of the cream broth. I did like this. The flavor blended well. It was a great way to get the veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was delicious!!! I did add some chicken boullion to the water when it started to boil. I didn't have a whole bunch of spinach so I added some kale as well. Next time I might do without the rice though, it just seemed unneeded. This makes a bunch so be prepared for left overs! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was shocked to read how many cooks substituted onions for leeks. These vegetables are not interchangable in French cooking. Only changes were broth over water, whole milk instead of cream, added mushrooms as suggested because it sounded great and 1/2'd the spinach because I felt there was plenty going on already with flavor. It isn't a super spicy dish, but actually quite light for a creamy soup. Served with a grilled steak salad and rustic bread. Only 4 stars because of all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
After reading some of the other reviews, I subbed chicken broth for the water, to reduce the fat, I subbed half and half for the cream. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was a winner...really very delicious. I tasted like a restaurant-quality dish and looked with it as well when garnished with grated cheese and a sprinkle of fresh herbs. My fiancee and children loved it too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why this soup didn't have more flavor. I substituted most of the water with chicken broth and added garlic to the onion and leeks. I didn't add any rice since the potato was starch enough. It tasted okay just not worth trying again, although plenty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for my group of college students, without the asparagus, because there was none in season and I didn't want to use canned. It's just as well that I didn't, though, because this was really thick, despite using extra broth on top of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Awesome soup! I followed others advice and used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock and also added some garlic to the onions and leeks. I made it for a soup party and it was a big hit!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was pretty darn tasty. I usually don't rate a recipe unless I've made it exactly as written, but I think this one was fine as is, but better with some of the recommendations. I started out adding a clove of minced fresh garlic to the onion and leeks. I also sauteed in 1/2 butter and 1/2 Italian olive oil. Using vegetable broth instead of plain water, I added all the fresh veggies I had which was everything called for plus green beans, mushrooms, cauliflower and broccoli. I started the carrots, potatoes and rice first for 15 minutes. I used a short grain rice and put in more than was called for. After the 15 minutes, I started adding in the other veggies in order of most dense to least dense. I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream. After I added the spinach, I turned off the heat and the spinach wilted without further cooking. After it was done, it seemed to be missing something so I added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice to brighten it up and a teaspoon of dry mustard. This is a hit and it will be one of my "go to" soups this winter. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was great! Love it for anytime but it is a GREAT spring soup. It is awesome exactly as the recipe instructs it to be made. I substituted vegetarian chicken broth. Other then the vegitarian substitution the first time I made it I thought I had heavy cream in the house but when it came time to add it I found out I did not, so I substituted Cream Cheese (the 1/3 less fat kind). It was very good that way. My husband said he liked it even more when he found out it was low in fat. The way with the cream is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using beef broth (cubes) instead of plain water, adding fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream, and added garlic when cooking the onion/leek. With a little extra salt, it tasted absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States