French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Man is this good. I just had surgery and my mom made this(sauce the recipe on the fridge) Hit the spot. She said she made as is but admitted to adding a little garlic powder. I Think it was even better the next day. Makes alot of soup and it is hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I just made this soup for the first time and it was amazing. Creamy without feeling heavy, it really hit the spot. Like other reviewers, I mixed 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth for the liquid element. You could easily use all chicken broth or vegetable broth to the same effect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Delicious, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth and decreased my salt to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe makes a colorful bowl of soup, but it's just not that flavorful. As suggested by others, I used chicken broth in place of the water and added some garlic. After tasting it, I added a Fines Herbes blend (thyme, oregano, sage, rosemary, parsley). The soup did not thicken despite having both potatoes and rice. I would recommend using just one starch, potatoes, and adding extra potatoes to thicken if possible. I did not add the full half pound of spinach...I just stopped when it seemed about right. This makes a large pot of soup, and unfortunately, no one is too excited about the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe, and very flexible. I halved the recipe, doubled the onion because I did not have any leeks, added three cloves of roasted garlic, replaced asparagus with green beans(again, what I had on hand), used broth in place of the water(and reduced the salt to compensate), and had to use whole milk in place of cream. Even with all these changes it was delicious and I will be making this soup often. I'm sure as written is great too, and will hopefully try it that way when I make it next. Just wanted to say it's very versatile and thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Great combo-- Rather than garlic or mushrooms I added bayleaf(very French) and I had arborio rice on hand and of course the broth for flavor-- thanks for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipe was SOOO good! A word of caution- make sure you use a LARGE pot - like the type you use for making large quantities of spaghetti sauce or chicken broth. I simmered mine for probably an hour vs. the recommended 30 minutes because my company was running late and so the volume reduced enough for the last minute addition of spinach and half and half (which I substituted for cream). I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by althee921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I used margarine at first but it was very bland so I added butter. It was really bland still, I even used chicken broth. I felt like I added a lot of salt, but once I added the spinach and cream, it was terrific:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VollmanBurton
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This is a restaurant quality soup. My boys don't like asparagus, so I substituted fresh green beans. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delicious! I only made a few changes, just added some fresh-minced garlic to the onions and leeks, and once they were translucent, I added a heaping Tbsp of Ultragrain (Eagle Mills Brand) flour. Instead of water, used 1 qt of organic mushroom broth and 1 qt of organic veggie broth. Used a 1/2 cup of uncooked long-grain brown rice instead of 1/3 of white. We ate it with multigrain ciabatta rolls. Yum! Really rich if you make with cream. Next time, may just try soymilk, as the dairy can be a problem for us & our digestive systems. Loved the spinach in it! We just ate the last two bowls and it was even better (made it a few days ago) with time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States