French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a fantastic, flavorful, light soup! Only changes made: used all chicken broth vs water, left out the potatoes (didn't have any on hand), and used half-n-half instead of heavy cream (didn't have any in the fridge). Only used 3 tsps sea salt and about 1 tsp of Herbs de Provence. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a great soup! I seasoned it with seasoning salt, rosemary and majoram, to taste, used half chicken broth (as many other reviews suggested), subbed arborio for the white rice, and used half and half instead of heavy cream. It was a hit, very fresh tasting and flavourful. I can't wait to have the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I thought this was pretty good! A great way to get your veggies! I also added a can of garbonzo beans for some protien and used brown rice. I used all water, but then a couple cubes of chicken boullion and only needed to add 2t salt. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was an absolutely delicious soup and a breeze to make. I followed the recipe pretty closely but added some black pepper. Both my husband and I loved it well enough for a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarieM
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Really good and SO healthy! I added 1 qt. organic chicken broth. Goes great with Irish Brown Bread recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great soup on this beautiful Spring day. After reading other reviews, I too, used chicken broth (3 cans plus about 1 cup of concentrated stock I made myself) along with 2 cups of water. I added 2 teaspoons of jarred minced garlic to the leek and onion sautee. Followed the rest of the recipe as written until the end where I used half and half rather than heavy cream and added a few sprigs of fresh rosemary and a fresh bayleaf. I also added some leftover cooked chicken. Can't say this was lacking flavor at all. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Seemed very bland - I replaced half of the water with chicken stock, added about a half tsp of freshly shredded ginger, 1/2 tsp of tarragon and planed a half clove of garlic into it, also added pepper. Earlier reviews say this gets more flavorful after it sits, so we'll see if I overdid it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Man is this good. I just had surgery and my mom made this(sauce the recipe on the fridge) Hit the spot. She said she made as is but admitted to adding a little garlic powder. I Think it was even better the next day. Makes alot of soup and it is hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I just made this soup for the first time and it was amazing. Creamy without feeling heavy, it really hit the spot. Like other reviewers, I mixed 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth for the liquid element. You could easily use all chicken broth or vegetable broth to the same effect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Delicious, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth and decreased my salt to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States