French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was simply delicious ! I try not to change recipes too much, but knowing our tastes... I had to substitute the water for homemade chicken broth. I also added 3 garlic cloves, minced and 1 extra bunch of asparagus (we love it). Also, julienned a sweet red pepper for a beautiful "pop" of color. I made a double batch to freeze some for later, as I knew it would be a hit. topped with fresh grated cheddar & served with warm crusty bread. Decadent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tikigirl67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambertville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Delicious! I used 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 water and added the asparagus with about 10 minutes to go before adding the spinach and cream. This makes a lot, but it's worth it-seconds and thirds will be had and leftovers will be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
EXCELLENT!! Very easy and good good good. Everyone including my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This soups is fabulous! The weather always turns cool around Easter and this is the perfect soup for spring time. I added left over rotisserie chicken and a splash of white wine and served it with crusty wheat bread. My whole family was raving over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Wonderful soup. I also used chicken broth. very easy to make and so tasty. I made this again, and this time when I served it I put Pecorino Romao cheese on top, What a added boost to the flavor !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Good recipe - rich and flavorful. I added a couple cloves of garlic with the onions as others suggested, used veggie stock instead of water, and whole milk instead of the cream. I was also using leftover, cooked asparagus, so I added it at the end with the spinach and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearwacket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgman, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was wonderful! I did use chicken broth instead of water, as many suggested, and doubled the onion as I did not have leeks. I used frozen spinach ( all I had) and think the texture would have been much better with fresh, but the taste was still excellent! My son asked for the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.. going to have to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
A really fine soup woth a wonderful fresh taste: it is really a potage parmentier with some asparagus, carrot, and spinach added. You can vary the proportions depending on which flavor you want to be dominant. I find it doesn't need any rice because the potatoes add enough starch, and although the heavy cream tastes nice, most of us are better off with something less fatty and caloric. Personally I just like to intensify the veggie flavors by adding garlic and parsley. But it's a great recipe and I've had lots of fun with it this spring. Thank you Papergoddess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was delicious! The neighbours and severl friends have asked for the recipe. Living in algeria where aspargus isnt produced I had to improvise and used fresh garden peas and a tiny bit of bottled asparagus. The only thing I will change is the rice....I think having potatoes and rice in the same soup is a bit much....Thank you for such a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ang and sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I just love this soup, would have never thought this combination would work, but it is lovely. I did take a couple of previous reviewers suggestions. I used half chicken broth for the liquid (free-range, which I feel is more favorful). I also used half-n-half instead of full cream, it was very creamy. And I added a teaspoon or so of garlic powder. Yummm. I had three bowls the first day and have lunch during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States