French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I love this soup! Sometimes I cut the butter to 1 Tablespoon and use a can of cut green beans instead of the asparagus and use milk instead of the heavy cream and it is still delicious and low cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipe. I had leeks and asparagus to use up, and instead of the regular cream of asparagus soup, I tried this, since it sounded different and had the potential for being nice and tasty. Unfortunately, this was extremely bland, with minimal flavor, even though I followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me). I am still at a loss for how to "fix" this, so will probably not make this again. It is probably a very good soup, true to its roots, but just not our cup of tea. Sorry -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Wow! My Italian husband who was disappointed that I wasn't making a minestrone just said this is one of the best soups I have ever made. I made a few slight changes: Added 2 cloves garlic, added fresh thyme, added a vegetable bouillon cube, added a few shakes of pepper, and used half and half in place of heavy cream. Outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Soup was only ok. The veggies were fine, but the broth tasted like watered down heavy cream (which it is). I probably won't make this again, but if I do, I'll go with chicken broth instead or water (and less cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
It taste really good! It makes you feel health!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I'm a soup fiend and I love this soup! I added 7 tsp of better than bouillon chicken stock, garlic, red onion, garlic powder, celery, celery salt, chopped dried chives and dill. I meant to add corn but forgot. I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I am making this soup for the third time because it is such a great hit. I add garlic to the onions and leaks, use chicken broth instead of water, omit the salt and add fresh sliced mushrooms when I add the cream and spinich. Today I have added 1 cup of rice instead of 1/3 cup which makes for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
We are a GFCFSF family and so I replaced the butter w/ dairy free butter, and used coconut milk in place of the heavy cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is a very nice and filling soup, if a bit bland. I split the amount of potatoes to 1/2 parsnips, and added a little fresh thyme. It was a great way to thin out the leeks in my small garden. A little white wine would also probably perk up the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Pretty good, needs extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States