French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a fairly good soup but more of a base. It is lacking in flavor. I made as is to give it a fair chance and after tasting ended up adding garlic and some other seasoning blends I had on hand. If I make it again I will use chicken broth instead of the plain water I also might admit the cream since it didn't add anything to it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I put the soup together in about 30 minutes. It cooked for about 45 minutes after my prep. I used canned asparagus and omitted the carrots. I also doubled the rice. Served with some parmesan cheese on top and am eating it for lunch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a fabulous soup! Add some whole grain brown rice for a hutritional bonus. I prefer stock in place water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LupeCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wonderful! Used homemade chicken stock in lieu of water. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was an excellent soup! It's freezing rain and snow here as I write this, and craving a warm soup loaded with veggies fit the bill! Just a couple of changes. I used low-sodium broth in leu of water, I did not add the rice, and pureed about half of the broth/veggie mix in the blender before adding the spinach and cream. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Dang! This soup was fantastic, did the chicken broth switch and used alot more spinach. Next time I make this i thing im going to use some chicken or maybe some ham... mmmm ham ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This was really good, but didn't keep very even after a couple of hours in the fridge. Not a very good dish if you're only cooking for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Oh my gosh, so delicious. The only thing I changed was fat free half and half for the heavy cream, and olive oil in place of the butter (to save few cal's). Thanks Papergoddess for such a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I think this was too creamy. It smelled delicious before I added the cream. (I had used vegetable stock for the broth.) Maybe next time I'll just make it w/o the cream. Also didn't add the spinach because it was already very bulky before I got to that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Wow! We loved this! I did use only chicken stock and no water. I also added cut up cooked chicken tenders. I added grated fresh garlic in with the onions and leeks. I used half and half instead of cream. I also added several seasonings-salt, white pepper, Red Robin seasoning, garlic powder, and lemon pepper. I also added a few dashes of hot sauce. I didn't alter the veggies that I used. I used exactly what was written. I only subbed baby carrots as the grocery didn't have any big ones. I also used more rice than recommended. It made the soup thicker. I was awesome though, I must say. I made Italian bread to go with it. from this site (Italian Bread Using the Bread Machine). Everything was yummy and I felt good about eating all of those veggies! Leeks are one of the healthies things you can eat! We will be eating this at least once a month! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States