French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by robinegg
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Oh, my - this is as yummy as I thought it would be. Per one of the reviews I read, I used some chicken stock as a substitute for part of the water. The directions aren't terribly specific on chopping the vegetables but it doesn't matter really - just chop them to the size you prefer. This would probably also be delicious if blended together with an immersion blender, minus the spinach perhaps. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We love this soup! I made it a lot in the spring and I can't wait to make it again when spring comes. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Delish! I used vegetable stock and added kale instead of spinach. I also added garlic when sautéing the leeks and used a mixed wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
i used chicken stock instead of water and half and half instead of heavy cream. This is a yummy soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious! I made a low-carb version without the rice or potatoes, and just used extra asparagus and carrots instead. I added some veggie bouillon cubes and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great soup. The only thing I did different was that I added Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base to the water. If you do this, you will need to cut back on the salt or even omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
this is my favorite soup now! I didn't follow the recipe exactly though, I used chicken broth instead of water and only put enough to cover the vegetables in the pan. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I would give this three and a half stars if I could. It's good - tastes very light and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This turned out to be an excellent soup although I ended up changing it up according to what I had on hand and to my tastes. Here's what I did: I didn't have the asparagus so I chopped up 3 celery heart sticks and added a huge clove of minced elephant garlic. I fried it and the carrots with the leeks and onions. Since we're "mostly vegan" I didn't have butter and cream, but I had some gee(clarified butter) left from some Indian recipe I did and I used a thick coconut cream that doesn't have a coconut flavour. I used brown rice, less salt, added fresh sprigs of thyme and rosemary, and fresh black pepper(I tied the herbs and pulled them out before eating). I used chopped frozen spring spinach and put in a 1/2 cup of corn that I had leftover from dinner the night before. Like with most recipes, I used this one as a jumping off point and made it my own the result was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, however I made a two changes, first, I didn't have asparagus, so I used Kale instead and in place of the spinach. Second, instead of heavy cream I used Kefir (original flavor, cultured milk smoothie). It came out very good and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States