French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We love this soup! I made it a lot in the spring and I can't wait to make it again when spring comes. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Delish! I used vegetable stock and added kale instead of spinach. I also added garlic when sautéing the leeks and used a mixed wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
i used chicken stock instead of water and half and half instead of heavy cream. This is a yummy soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delicious! I made a low-carb version without the rice or potatoes, and just used extra asparagus and carrots instead. I added some veggie bouillon cubes and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great soup. The only thing I did different was that I added Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base to the water. If you do this, you will need to cut back on the salt or even omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
this is my favorite soup now! I didn't follow the recipe exactly though, I used chicken broth instead of water and only put enough to cover the vegetables in the pan. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I would give this three and a half stars if I could. It's good - tastes very light and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This turned out to be an excellent soup although I ended up changing it up according to what I had on hand and to my tastes. Here's what I did: I didn't have the asparagus so I chopped up 3 celery heart sticks and added a huge clove of minced elephant garlic. I fried it and the carrots with the leeks and onions. Since we're "mostly vegan" I didn't have butter and cream, but I had some gee(clarified butter) left from some Indian recipe I did and I used a thick coconut cream that doesn't have a coconut flavour. I used brown rice, less salt, added fresh sprigs of thyme and rosemary, and fresh black pepper(I tied the herbs and pulled them out before eating). I used chopped frozen spring spinach and put in a 1/2 cup of corn that I had leftover from dinner the night before. Like with most recipes, I used this one as a jumping off point and made it my own the result was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe, however I made a two changes, first, I didn't have asparagus, so I used Kale instead and in place of the spinach. Second, instead of heavy cream I used Kefir (original flavor, cultured milk smoothie). It came out very good and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I liked this soup and it seems very healthy. I used more potato and skipped the rice. I blended the soup before adding the asparagus and spinach. I also feared it'd be blanded based on the reviews but I went overboard and put too much thyme in. I think next time I'll stick with salt and pepper because there are lots of different flavors from coming from the numerous veggies. I froze some will blend it all again once defrosted (as seen from a previous review) and might add some parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States