French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bbear3
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Delicious and super easy to whip up. I used the microwave to melt the chocolate with a bit of the butter before adding - worked great. I'll make a double batch next time because I did not have enough to frost my 24 cupcakes (made it through about 18 - i use a piping bag to frost).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great recipe. I've been making this for over 25 years. However I never ever have unsweetened chocolate. So I always use this substitution. 6 Tablespoons of cocoa powder and increase butter in the recipe 7/8 of a cup. that will be a total of 14 Tablespoons of butter for the recipe. It works very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Perfect ... Just what I was looking for. Not too sweet. Light and fluffy texture just like the vanilla frosting I regularly use. Very easy to make. And turned out delicious even though I had to substitute cocoa powder and butter for the baking chocolate. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly LaBell Minor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I'm making this frosting recipe for the second time today...it's THAT good! Pairing it with the Black Magic Cake recipe from this site, it's the perfect combination for a sensational cake. Reminiscent of my mothers oh-so-delicious French Silk Pie I grew up with, I'm hoping the Black Magic Cake with French Silk frosting will win first place at a cake baking competition at my church. All in the spirit of good fun. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe was perfect with the Black Magic Cake this site! The deep chocolate flavor of the cake is balanced perfectly with the lighter flavor of this frosting. I often think that frosting can overwhelm a cake, and I end up leaving frosting on the plate after the cake is gone - but not with this combination! Keepers both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I make this frosting but use Crisco instead of butter!! It is so light and fluffy and tastes wonderful!!! I must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is probably the best 'Non Buttercream' icing that I've ever found. I have used it for basic cupcakes to a 3 tier birthday cake. That being said I'm not sure how it would hold up to a larger sized cake unless you added more icing sugar to make it stronger/stiffer for the weight of a larger cake. All in all...this has been a family/friend and customer favorite. I will not use anything else. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBelle
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This frosting is absolutely divine! It is light and fluffy and spreads beautifully. In my opinion it has just the right amount of chocolate. I prefer a lighter taste, not too dark. I made no changes except to scale to adequately frost a three layer cake. This is now my favorite chocolate frosting recipe. I see/taste no reason to look for another recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was great! I made it tonight because I needed a lighter colored chocolate frosting for a chocolate "monkey cake" for my little boy's 3rd birthday. It was really light and creamy. Instead of the melted unsweetened chocolate, I added 6 Tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder and 2 EXTRA Tbsp of butter. It was perfect and I received a lot of compliments. Thank-you to Ginger for posting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The secret to this frosting is to beat it until very light in color and texture! It is a creamy frosting delight that is our family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States