French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This really does taste like French Silk Pie! I was both surprised and impressed! (And I couldn't stop tasting it, telling myself I had to make sure it was sweet enough, chocolatey enough, the proper consistency, etc., etc...yeah, right) It is light, fluffy, and mildly chocolate - just like French Silk Pie! It spreads like a dream and makes the cake look like you just have to dive right in for a piece. Wanting to make sure I had enough to amply frost a layer cake I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and it was just the right amount. Using pre-melted unsweetened chocolate in the envelopes made this a snap to make quickly. Didn't have milk but I had cream leftover from "Whipped Cream Cake II" and it worked well. Awesome good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
THIS IS THE BEST, BEST, BEST FROSTING!!!! There need be NO other chocolate frosting recipes after this one! Also, it is TOO easy to be so smooth and delicious ! Most chocolate frosting recipes are too thick and heavy, but this is very close to the flavor and texture of French Silk Pie! I LOVE THIS FROSTING! It frosted and filled my 8 inch layer cake well and I added just a splash more milk...I might double it for a 9 inch layer cake cause it's SOOOO GOOD!! Truly, outstanding...light and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2oovc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is really tasty, first time for me making frosting so I think it came out really well. I didn't have bakers chocolate so i used baking cocoa and added more milk... didn't hurt the frosting at all. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is my family's all-time favorite frosting! This was my first time making it....my mom always frosts our birthday cakes with this, and my son asked me to make a yellow cake using this frosting. I couldn't find the recipe....I don't have the old Betty Crocker book that my mom has, so I was thrilled to find it here! It turned out great on my Bonnie Butter Cake. I too, had to add about 3 TBS more milk...I made a batch and a half for a 9" layer cake...my boys LOVE frosting :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've been making FRENCH SILK FROSTING for over 40 YEARS since the recipe came out in 1964 in Betty Crocker's "FESTIVE FIXINS WITH A FOREIGN FLAIR" and below is the ORIGINAL RECIPE, which will make you flush the one given here down the toilet! It is better than sex! 4 CUPS SIFTED POWDERED SUGAR 1 CUP SOFTENED BUTTER (OR MARGARINE) 1 EGG 3 SQUARES BAKERS UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE, MELTED & COOLED (MAY ALSO USE 3 PACKETS OF REDI-BLEND CHOCOLATE) 1 TSP VANILLA EXTRACT BEAT ALL INGREDIENTS UNTIL LIGHT AND FLUFFY AND SPREAD ON COOLED CAKE. YIELD FROSTING FOR 2- 9 INCH LAYERS. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastryChefNYC

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Recipe was fairly simple to make but it was a bit dry. I would suggest adding a splash more milk. The taste got rave reviews though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great with black magic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by SBelle
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This frosting is absolutely divine! It is light and fluffy and spreads beautifully. In my opinion it has just the right amount of chocolate. I prefer a lighter taste, not too dark. I made no changes except to scale to adequately frost a three layer cake. This is now my favorite chocolate frosting recipe. I see/taste no reason to look for another recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This frosting is smooth, silky and delicious! It's very easy to make, and it makes enough to generously frost and fill a 9-inch layer cake. The best thing about this frosting is that it's stiff enough use for piping decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
YUMMY! Just t o sub 3 tbsp. of b. cocoa for the melted chocolate but it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States