French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This really does taste like French Silk Pie! I was both surprised and impressed! (And I couldn't stop tasting it, telling myself I had to make sure it was sweet enough, chocolatey enough, the proper consistency, etc., etc...yeah, right) It is light, fluffy, and mildly chocolate - just like French Silk Pie! It spreads like a dream and makes the cake look like you just have to dive right in for a piece. Wanting to make sure I had enough to amply frost a layer cake I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and it was just the right amount. Using pre-melted unsweetened chocolate in the envelopes made this a snap to make quickly. Didn't have milk but I had cream leftover from "Whipped Cream Cake II" and it worked well. Awesome good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
THIS IS THE BEST, BEST, BEST FROSTING!!!! There need be NO other chocolate frosting recipes after this one! Also, it is TOO easy to be so smooth and delicious ! Most chocolate frosting recipes are too thick and heavy, but this is very close to the flavor and texture of French Silk Pie! I LOVE THIS FROSTING! It frosted and filled my 8 inch layer cake well and I added just a splash more milk...I might double it for a 9 inch layer cake cause it's SOOOO GOOD!! Truly, outstanding...light and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is really tasty, first time for me making frosting so I think it came out really well. I didn't have bakers chocolate so i used baking cocoa and added more milk... didn't hurt the frosting at all. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is my family's all-time favorite frosting! This was my first time making it....my mom always frosts our birthday cakes with this, and my son asked me to make a yellow cake using this frosting. I couldn't find the recipe....I don't have the old Betty Crocker book that my mom has, so I was thrilled to find it here! It turned out great on my Bonnie Butter Cake. I too, had to add about 3 TBS more milk...I made a batch and a half for a 9" layer cake...my boys LOVE frosting :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Recipe was fairly simple to make but it was a bit dry. I would suggest adding a splash more milk. The taste got rave reviews though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've been making FRENCH SILK FROSTING for over 40 YEARS since the recipe came out in 1964 in Betty Crocker's "FESTIVE FIXINS WITH A FOREIGN FLAIR" and below is the ORIGINAL RECIPE, which will make you flush the one given here down the toilet! It is better than sex! 4 CUPS SIFTED POWDERED SUGAR 1 CUP SOFTENED BUTTER (OR MARGARINE) 1 EGG 3 SQUARES BAKERS UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE, MELTED & COOLED (MAY ALSO USE 3 PACKETS OF REDI-BLEND CHOCOLATE) 1 TSP VANILLA EXTRACT BEAT ALL INGREDIENTS UNTIL LIGHT AND FLUFFY AND SPREAD ON COOLED CAKE. YIELD FROSTING FOR 2- 9 INCH LAYERS. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastryChefNYC

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great with black magic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
YUMMY! Just t o sub 3 tbsp. of b. cocoa for the melted chocolate but it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Excellent! It came out great even though I had to substitute cocoa powder for baking chocolate. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Just give me a spoon...I'll eat it right out of the bowl! So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States