French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and it did indeed turn out really good. Its silky and its absolutely delicious. However, if you chew the frosting a bit you'll notice the grains of confectioner's sugar, which was a bit unpleasant. Otherwise, it is perfect for cakes/cupcakes. Its silky enough to be absolutely smooth and stiff enough to make pipe designs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good as everyone says. And no problems with the frosting hardening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is really tasty, first time for me making frosting so I think it came out really well. I didn't have bakers chocolate so i used baking cocoa and added more milk... didn't hurt the frosting at all. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
In the words of my husband, "This is dangerous!" I will be making this frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was fabulous! I frosted just the top of an angel food cake for my hubby's birthday. It had such great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is my family's all-time favorite frosting! This was my first time making it....my mom always frosts our birthday cakes with this, and my son asked me to make a yellow cake using this frosting. I couldn't find the recipe....I don't have the old Betty Crocker book that my mom has, so I was thrilled to find it here! It turned out great on my Bonnie Butter Cake. I too, had to add about 3 TBS more milk...I made a batch and a half for a 9" layer cake...my boys LOVE frosting :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Just give me a spoon...I'll eat it right out of the bowl! So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Loved it! I did add 2 tablespoons more milk, and I used chocolate milk instead of whole milk. It wasn't too sweet. I will definitely use this one again, probably on brownies. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
PERFECT light chocolate frosting. not too sweet with just the right amount of chocolate. use this is you are looking for a light milk chocolate frosting that will not overpower a cake but accentuate it. added a slpash more milk as others had suggested also added about 2 tbsp of kahlua. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
THIS IS THE BEST, BEST, BEST FROSTING!!!! There need be NO other chocolate frosting recipes after this one! Also, it is TOO easy to be so smooth and delicious ! Most chocolate frosting recipes are too thick and heavy, but this is very close to the flavor and texture of French Silk Pie! I LOVE THIS FROSTING! It frosted and filled my 8 inch layer cake well and I added just a splash more milk...I might double it for a 9 inch layer cake cause it's SOOOO GOOD!! Truly, outstanding...light and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States