French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Reading how more milk was needed, I automatically started with 1/4 c. milk. Dismayed at finding out I was out of vanilla, I blindly substituted 1/4 tsp. of mint extract. The frosting has a 'hint' of mint without being overpowering. This is the best frosting recipe EVER and will use this in place of the store brands. My kids just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and it did indeed turn out really good. Its silky and its absolutely delicious. However, if you chew the frosting a bit you'll notice the grains of confectioner's sugar, which was a bit unpleasant. Otherwise, it is perfect for cakes/cupcakes. Its silky enough to be absolutely smooth and stiff enough to make pipe designs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good as everyone says. And no problems with the frosting hardening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is really tasty, first time for me making frosting so I think it came out really well. I didn't have bakers chocolate so i used baking cocoa and added more milk... didn't hurt the frosting at all. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
In the words of my husband, "This is dangerous!" I will be making this frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was fabulous! I frosted just the top of an angel food cake for my hubby's birthday. It had such great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is my family's all-time favorite frosting! This was my first time making it....my mom always frosts our birthday cakes with this, and my son asked me to make a yellow cake using this frosting. I couldn't find the recipe....I don't have the old Betty Crocker book that my mom has, so I was thrilled to find it here! It turned out great on my Bonnie Butter Cake. I too, had to add about 3 TBS more milk...I made a batch and a half for a 9" layer cake...my boys LOVE frosting :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Just give me a spoon...I'll eat it right out of the bowl! So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Loved it! I did add 2 tablespoons more milk, and I used chocolate milk instead of whole milk. It wasn't too sweet. I will definitely use this one again, probably on brownies. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
PERFECT light chocolate frosting. not too sweet with just the right amount of chocolate. use this is you are looking for a light milk chocolate frosting that will not overpower a cake but accentuate it. added a slpash more milk as others had suggested also added about 2 tbsp of kahlua. very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States