French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was only okay. It was very sweet and not chocolaty enough for me. I won't be making this one again... sorry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimee613

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Excellent! It came out great even though I had to substitute cocoa powder for baking chocolate. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I have been using this recipe for years. This is the only chocolate frosting I will make. It is smooth, silky and not too sweet. Makes me hungry just reviewing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This frosting is really delicious. I make a lot of cakes and try different icings and this is one of the best tasting chocolate frostings I have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
delicious, loved this, everyone enjoyed its silk texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
amazing!!! Easy to make, and easy to eat!!! A tiny bit sweeter than I prefer, but a wonderful wonderful frosting! Will certainly use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This frosting is the bomb. Used a little more milk to get the right consistency. Used on a devil's food cake and it was perfect. Super easy- so much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I tried this a few years back with a yellow cake. The chocolate flavor was so weak, it was a waste of chocolate squares. I recently retried this recipe on a dark chocolate cake - what a difference! I don't normally like chocolate icing on chocolate cake, but this is the perfect chocolate frosting for a dark chocolate cake. My only complaint this time was that the icing left my lips feeling a little slick - I'll definitely cut the butter back to a single stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made this to go a devil's food cake, my husband and daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arbovale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Reading how more milk was needed, I automatically started with 1/4 c. milk. Dismayed at finding out I was out of vanilla, I blindly substituted 1/4 tsp. of mint extract. The frosting has a 'hint' of mint without being overpowering. This is the best frosting recipe EVER and will use this in place of the store brands. My kids just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States