French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This frosting is wonderful! It would also make great filling for cakes or cupcakes. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great with black magic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I liked this, I think next time I might add a tablespoon or two of cocoa but it was good texture I really liked. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've made this recipe at least half dozen times to top cupcakes, and it always comes out great, and I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This really does taste like French Silk Pie! I was both surprised and impressed! (And I couldn't stop tasting it, telling myself I had to make sure it was sweet enough, chocolatey enough, the proper consistency, etc., etc...yeah, right) It is light, fluffy, and mildly chocolate - just like French Silk Pie! It spreads like a dream and makes the cake look like you just have to dive right in for a piece. Wanting to make sure I had enough to amply frost a layer cake I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and it was just the right amount. Using pre-melted unsweetened chocolate in the envelopes made this a snap to make quickly. Didn't have milk but I had cream leftover from "Whipped Cream Cake II" and it worked well. Awesome good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I am not a fan of buttercream frostings BUT this recipe is amazing! The texture is smooth and silky and it is not too sweet. I added 1 tbl. of heavy whipping cream to 2 tbl. of milk. I also added 1 tbl. of espresso coffee to my melted chocolate. Perfect for cupcakes. P.S. Make sure you use a good quality butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very easy to make and came out nice and light, as promised. Slightly bland, oily aftertaste, though (hence the four stars)-- maybe next time I'll try almond extract instead of vanilla, to give it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've been making FRENCH SILK FROSTING for over 40 YEARS since the recipe came out in 1964 in Betty Crocker's "FESTIVE FIXINS WITH A FOREIGN FLAIR" and below is the ORIGINAL RECIPE, which will make you flush the one given here down the toilet! It is better than sex! 4 CUPS SIFTED POWDERED SUGAR 1 CUP SOFTENED BUTTER (OR MARGARINE) 1 EGG 3 SQUARES BAKERS UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE, MELTED & COOLED (MAY ALSO USE 3 PACKETS OF REDI-BLEND CHOCOLATE) 1 TSP VANILLA EXTRACT BEAT ALL INGREDIENTS UNTIL LIGHT AND FLUFFY AND SPREAD ON COOLED CAKE. YIELD FROSTING FOR 2- 9 INCH LAYERS. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastryChefNYC

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This frosting is amazing. I use it on the majority of the cakes I make, and everyone who tries it is endlessly complimenting it and asking for the recipe. On top of that- it's easy, light, and done quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe & so did everyone else. I topped the old fashioned fudge cookies I made from a recipe I found on here. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pancakegirl1022
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States