French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The longer you beat this the fluffier it gets. I usually beat the butter and sugar until fluffy then add the rest of the ingredients and keep beating it until really fluffy! I have also used white chocolate for white frosting. This is my go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I tried this frosting and I loved it. I have been looking for a light colored chocolate frosting and I finally found it with this one, I made a cake and used this frosting and it was a hit!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Fabulous, easy frosting. I did not have unsweetened chocolate so I used two squares of dark (54% cacao) chocolate to delicious results. My only caveat was that this did not seem to me to be quite enough to frost a whole cake (two layers, frosting between the layers), but that might only be because it was so scrumptious I spread it too thickly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
YUMMY! Just t o sub 3 tbsp. of b. cocoa for the melted chocolate but it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wow!!! Just finished making it 5 min ago & son & daughter are licking the bowl & spoons. Very light - like bakery style. I did take the suggestions of others & increased the serving size to 18. Glad I did. Extremely yummy & will now be my go to chocolate frosting. BTW I didn't have chocolate squares so I used 1 ounce of cocoa instead. Again, light texture & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I've made this a few times and it is a huge hit. I used melted chocolate chips and it worked just great. So light and fluffy, especially since I whipped it. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
light, airy, perfect faint chocolate flavor. Spread on Black Magic Cake from this site and it was a hit. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great! I would make 1 and 1/2 of this recipe next time and was easy to make without a mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I'm not a big fan of a lot of chocolate but this frosting had just the right amount. I made it even better by adding a couple heaping Tablespoons of peanut butter in with the melted chocolate. Used it to frost the Chocolate Cake ll from this site. Extra yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as written and it was absolutely divine! I did increase the ingredients by half so as to have enough to frost the cake after reading some of the other reviews. I had just a little left over, but it was quickly devoured by my husband and daughter, who both sat in the floor like two small kids with a spoon in their hands and took turns taking bites of the leftovers. Excellent frosting with a truly wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States