French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Perfect ... Just what I was looking for. Not too sweet. Light and fluffy texture just like the vanilla frosting I regularly use. Very easy to make. And turned out delicious even though I had to substitute cocoa powder and butter for the baking chocolate. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly LaBell Minor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I'm making this frosting recipe for the second time today...it's THAT good! Pairing it with the Black Magic Cake recipe from this site, it's the perfect combination for a sensational cake. Reminiscent of my mothers oh-so-delicious French Silk Pie I grew up with, I'm hoping the Black Magic Cake with French Silk frosting will win first place at a cake baking competition at my church. All in the spirit of good fun. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe was perfect with the Black Magic Cake this site! The deep chocolate flavor of the cake is balanced perfectly with the lighter flavor of this frosting. I often think that frosting can overwhelm a cake, and I end up leaving frosting on the plate after the cake is gone - but not with this combination! Keepers both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I make this frosting but use Crisco instead of butter!! It is so light and fluffy and tastes wonderful!!! I must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is probably the best 'Non Buttercream' icing that I've ever found. I have used it for basic cupcakes to a 3 tier birthday cake. That being said I'm not sure how it would hold up to a larger sized cake unless you added more icing sugar to make it stronger/stiffer for the weight of a larger cake. All in all...this has been a family/friend and customer favorite. I will not use anything else. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBelle
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This frosting is absolutely divine! It is light and fluffy and spreads beautifully. In my opinion it has just the right amount of chocolate. I prefer a lighter taste, not too dark. I made no changes except to scale to adequately frost a three layer cake. This is now my favorite chocolate frosting recipe. I see/taste no reason to look for another recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was great! I made it tonight because I needed a lighter colored chocolate frosting for a chocolate "monkey cake" for my little boy's 3rd birthday. It was really light and creamy. Instead of the melted unsweetened chocolate, I added 6 Tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder and 2 EXTRA Tbsp of butter. It was perfect and I received a lot of compliments. Thank-you to Ginger for posting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
The secret to this frosting is to beat it until very light in color and texture! It is a creamy frosting delight that is our family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This frosting is smooth, silky and delicious! It's very easy to make, and it makes enough to generously frost and fill a 9-inch layer cake. The best thing about this frosting is that it's stiff enough use for piping decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is an easy recipe to prepare. I used Baker's Premium White Chocolate baking squares as I wanted a white chocolate frosting. I also used unsalted butter and wish I had added some salt to balance and enhance the flavor. I also think it would have been better with about 1/2 t. of pure almond extract. If you tasted the frosting alone, there was a slight gritty texture; but in eating a slice of the cake, the gritty texture was not noticeable. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States