French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
GREAT Pie - great taste, so good. My 3 boys and my husband ate one whole pie by themselves over Thanksgiving. Didn't change a thing other than decorating the top a bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie is absolutely the best! I just made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I didn't change a thing....a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The pie was easy to make at face value, however I made two and the first one didn't set and was rather runny. The second one set well and I had no problems. It was very tasty for those who love chocolate, however it was a little too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWhite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
OMG! I loved it. Tho' it seems to be more like a Swiss buttercream recipe. :D Whatev'. I ended up doubling the recipe (fit fine in a 5qt Kitchen Aid w/ a paddle) added two more squares (wasn't going to use them for anything else so why not?) and left one pie plain and added peppermint oil to the other both, w/ an Oreo crust. So tasty. Tho' the recipe made quite a bit of filling for two little ol' 9 inches. All most overflowing. But whatev'. Hehe. More for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the same recipe that I used to make when I worked at Country Kitchen. It is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Ohhhhhhhh, decadence. A mile-high version of the traditional French Silk Pie (see other recipe on this site). It seems to be updated, calling for pasteurized eggs or egg substitute, but I'm not intimidated by raw eggs, so I just used four fresh, large eggs (and lived to tell about it without incident). As you beat it, it gets fluffier and fluffier, as well as lighter in color. For color and taste I thought an Oreo cookie crust might be even better, so I made a crust of 24 regular-size Oreo cookies and 1/4 cup melted butter. Had I used a traditional pie crust I might have liked this with one more square of melted chocolate. Very rich, so cut slices accordingly. This is most likely why the French Silk Pie recipe I'm used to calls for half this amount of filling (and then of course you bury it under a couple inches of whipped cream). I garnished this with fresh whipped cream, raspberries, and mini chocolate chips. And as it turned out, I found I actually do prefer the pie with the Oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Awesome! I made 4 pies from this recipe. The first two were very soup like. I was using what I thought was butter but it was margarine! When I got it right and used the butter, it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeBrom
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I am not a be fan of french silk pie. I am made it for a friend who is. He loved it. I thought it was too sweet. But I always think it is. SO I will give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was ok but had too much of a buttery taste. Would of liked it ti more creamy instead of buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
What a yummy way to get a chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Webster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States