French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this for my boyfriend and he said it was the second best he's ever had (the first being his 80 yo grandmother's, I can't compete with that:) It's gotten rave reviews from everyone else who's tried it too. I use the big Keebler pre-made graham cracker crust and it's just the right amount of filling. Also I think it tastes better with cool whip that Reddi-whip on top. Make sure you use a HUGE mixing bowl and butter instead of margarine. Otherwise, the recipe is pretty much foolproof, and a major crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Got Eggbeaters and beat in Kitchen Aid mixer w whisk for awhile before I did anything. I put in 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1 tsp raspberry extract Put in 4 oz of chocolate (which was 12 T cocoa powder and 4 T melted shortening w butter flavor) (along w the butter and sugar) and painted a crust w melted milk choc chips and let cool before filling. A dream pie. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
i used ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate and just eyeballed 3oz and melted it in the microwave. i also used a grahm crust. this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Smith-Dean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
A little bit of work but well worth it!! Got rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made 4 French silk pies to compare and get the best recipe. This was the worst by far! Think of making cookies....butter, sugar, eggs. Now take that mixture and put it in the fridge. That is what this recipe is, other than a little cream and chocolate added. I would give zero stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Love, Love, Love. I did a store-bought Oreo crust, 4 ounces of Ghirardelli chocolate, and covered the whole thing in whipped cream and grated some Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate for garnish. I whipped the butter and sugar with the paddle on my KitchenAide stand mixer, and used the whisk for the chocolate and eggs. I beat the eggs for at least 5 mins each, and the pie set like a dream! I smothered it in whipped cream (1 1/2 cups whipping cream, 2 T. sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla). It turned out smooth, rich, creamy, wonderful! Can't wait to bring this to a party! I will never go to Baker's Square again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowmommy22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wow!!!! This was absolutly amazing! I was a bit worried while making this that it wasn't going to turn out, because upon tasting it it tasted grainy. After adding the eggs this was much better. I used a pre-made Keebler shortbread pie crust. I didn't have any chocolate squares, so I melted 1 tbsp shortening with 3 tbsp cocoa for each oz. of chocolate. Update 1/22/12, I have made this pie several times and it is always amazing. I recently made it again and used egg substitute and it ruined my pie! They would not blend into the rest of the ingredients and it turned my filling into a cottage cheese like filling, wound up throwing it out! From here on out I will always use real eggs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This recipe is ridiculously easy and is pure heaven! My mom and I always get a slice of French Silk pie at Baker's Square on our Christmas shopping trip and started to look for a similar recipe and this is probably the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was soooo good. It literally melted in your mouth. I will definately be making this again. I did not bake the pie as the recipe states, I just mixed and chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Volker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I too did this with raw eggs and everything seemed to work out just fine. I was just very careful with watching my temperatures. The kids loved this one too. I'll be making this again for sure! Ok, made this again, and this time I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup (to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup), and it came out even better. My daughter said the first go, at full sugar, was too sweet. I cut it back and it still got raves. I'll have to try it at 1/2 cup and see what that does. Still an excellent pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States