French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and found it to be just slightly grainy, so I will use powdered sugar next time. The addition I made was whipped 1/4 cup of heavy cream and folded it into the filling when it was done. This pie is out of this world, and in my opinion better than restaurant french silk pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is a wonderful chocolatey pie. Followed others suggestions and reduced the sugar to 3/4 Cup and increased the chocolate to 5 oz total. Used a frozen pie crust as my homemade ones don't turn out well. Definately fill the pie crusts immediately after mixing as the filling will harden in the container you store it in and is unusable. Have made this twice now - both times there was nothing left. Hope I get to taste the next one!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Amazingly rich with an awesome texture. I made for Easter and my family was raving about how great it was and how it was better than Bakers Square!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My great-niece said it all when she tasted this on Easter Sunday, first she hit a heavenly note, then she said, "This is heavenly!" Everyone agreed that we needed to add this recipe to our family's favorites collection. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I have made this pie so many times that I don't have to check the recipe anymore. It is the family favorite. I have perfected it in a few ways for our family. Firstly, I use a homemade graham cracker crust instead of the baked pie crust (store bought works, too, but homemade is better - I use graham cracker crust I from this website). Secondly, I use homemade whipped cream. It's so easy and so much better. Just beat heavy whipping cream until it gets stiff and add a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple tablespoons of confectioner's sugar (depending on how sweet you want it). This pie doesn't last more than 24 hours in my house every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This pie rawks. I followed the recipe exactly, except I made a my own crust (but then anything tastes great in one of my world rocking crusts). I also used non pasteurized eggs, and was a little nervous, but we all lived to tell about it. My wife now thinks I'm a Jedi Master in the kitchen also. I hope she never finds out how easy this recipe is. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a regular family request. I use egg product in place of eggs. As others have said, make sure to whip the heck between eggs. At least 2 min between. (I use thirds with the egg product.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
One of my favorite pies! EVER!!! I made it three times in 2 months and it came out perfect both times. I made it a fourth time a couple months later, and had just gotten my electric stand mixer, but this time it didn't set. So I made it again, that same day, and it still didn't set. I gave up and ate it like pudding pie, still tasted fantastic. haven't made it in a few months, because of what happened, but I would still recommend using this recipe. Next time I will try reverting back to the original electric mixer, and see how the recipe turns out. Definitely a must-have recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome! My husband and daughter LOVED this on Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Perfect to make for any formal or informal event. Made it for my boyfriend and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States