French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Made this for thanksgiving and it was a huuuuuuuge hit. I followed the directions exactly and my pie set up beautifully. It was so light and fluffy which was the perfect ending to our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaNuNew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made a couple changes (graham cracker crust instead of regular, 1 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp almond extracts & egg beaters instead of raw egg). Came out amazing!! Overfilled the 9 inch pie crust so we are some as mousse. Delicious!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I used a homemade crust with Ghirardelli chocolate and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup (I prefer it a bit less sweet). You absolutely must use real butter, softened, but not melted! You can pasteurize your own eggs by placing them in water on a stovetop. Using a digital thermometer, slowly heat the pot up to 140F and hold for 3 whole minutes. Rinse with cold water. (Be sure to save this trick for your favorite chocolate mousse recipe as well!) Just watch out. This pie goes from your mouth straight to your thighs, but oh, it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I added a bit more chocolate- but this was Devine! My family loved it- devoured in one sitting for a group of 8! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purplesnoopys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Light, fluffy, and so chocolatey. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
PHENOMINAL !!!!! You will LOVE this recipe ! Use real eggs !Literally the best pie I`ve ever made, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barat5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made this for our Christmas dinner and we all loved it! It is very rich as French silk pie should be and this one provides plenty of filling so you should get quite a few pieces from one pie. I used a chocolate crust because I knew my little ones would like that and they did. Thanks Betty Cooper, your French Silk Pie will be on another one of our holiday tables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Photo by AllOurEggs.com
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I make a very similar version, provided by my high school french teacher. It calls for only 3/4 cup butter and 3 eggs. Also, my version has 1 whole teaspoon of vanilla. In France, you would use two tablespoons of brandy...nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllOurEggs.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I know the recipe said real butter was required for the best results but my granddaughter is allergic so I made this with Earth Balance vegan butter and it turned out wonderful. Everyone loved it and no one even guessed it was nondairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K. Wilder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is for me. I've never made a french silk before and I probably wont go searching for a new one. A lot of the reviewers state that egg beaters won't work with this recipe, but my store didn't have pasteurized eggs and I was making this specifically for my little nieces. I didn't want to take any chances so I used the egg beaters. It turned out perfectly creamy and whipped. High peaks, silky texture, delicious flavor. At first I was afraid the sugar granules wouldn't dissolve, but by the fourth "egg" it was silky smooth. Excellent. PS- When I make this strictly for me and my hubby, I'm going to use real eggs to see how big of a difference it makes. I'm not too worried about it, but I'd be pretty bummed if my nieces got sick from my cooking! o.o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ablaine22

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States