French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
A really great pie! It was the first pie tin to be emptied and everyone wanted another piece. The only thing I would do differently next time is to add more than 3 oz of the chocolate to the filling, it was good, but not quite as chocolatey as I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I too accidently used margarine on the first pie, did not turn out very well at all, very soupy! Made again with real butter and this pie was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was completely delicious! Although I didn't realize until I was almost done making it that is calls for raw egg. I guess I could have done something about that, but no bother. One important substitution was subbing the pie crust for a chocolate graham cracker crusts, super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Loved it! Only suggestion would be to separate the eggs, blending in the yolks as called for but whipping up the whites then gently folding them in for increased volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this for my boyfriend and he said it was the second best he's ever had (the first being his 80 yo grandmother's, I can't compete with that:) It's gotten rave reviews from everyone else who's tried it too. I use the big Keebler pre-made graham cracker crust and it's just the right amount of filling. Also I think it tastes better with cool whip that Reddi-whip on top. Make sure you use a HUGE mixing bowl and butter instead of margarine. Otherwise, the recipe is pretty much foolproof, and a major crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Got Eggbeaters and beat in Kitchen Aid mixer w whisk for awhile before I did anything. I put in 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1 tsp raspberry extract Put in 4 oz of chocolate (which was 12 T cocoa powder and 4 T melted shortening w butter flavor) (along w the butter and sugar) and painted a crust w melted milk choc chips and let cool before filling. A dream pie. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
i used ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate and just eyeballed 3oz and melted it in the microwave. i also used a grahm crust. this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
A little bit of work but well worth it!! Got rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made 4 French silk pies to compare and get the best recipe. This was the worst by far! Think of making cookies....butter, sugar, eggs. Now take that mixture and put it in the fridge. That is what this recipe is, other than a little cream and chocolate added. I would give zero stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Love, Love, Love. I did a store-bought Oreo crust, 4 ounces of Ghirardelli chocolate, and covered the whole thing in whipped cream and grated some Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate for garnish. I whipped the butter and sugar with the paddle on my KitchenAide stand mixer, and used the whisk for the chocolate and eggs. I beat the eggs for at least 5 mins each, and the pie set like a dream! I smothered it in whipped cream (1 1/2 cups whipping cream, 2 T. sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla). It turned out smooth, rich, creamy, wonderful! Can't wait to bring this to a party! I will never go to Baker's Square again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowmommy22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States