French Silk Chocolate Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Like other reviewers, I also only used 2 STICKS (1 cup) butter and 3 eggs. It was very rich and a little grainy even though after each egg I beat it 5 minutes each then an extra 5 after the third, so next time I will definitely cut the sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I too was worried about the amount of butter. I read some of the reviews and some cut the butter down to 1 cup so I did that. But after whipping it I found I needed the full 2 cups of butter in order to fill my Pyrex fluted glass pan. Tasted great! Not too buttery at all. I also used 4 eggs which again worked perfect for me. If I were you I would try it the orginial way the first time and then makes any changes you feel are neccessary. I don't think this pie needs whipped cream either but that's just my taste. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
doesn't last one meal in this house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dunlap

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This pie looked beautiful and tasted great too at Thanksgiving. Some of my family thought it was too sweet, but I love sweet flavors so I was very pleased with it. No one turned it down and some had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I love this recipie! It has turned out perfect everytime and everyone raves about it! I used 2 sticks of butter but followed the rest of the recipe. I think the trick is beating for the full 5 minutes after each egg. I've never had a grainy taste to it, its always been smooth as silk. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This pie was very rich. It was not like a French Silk pie that I've had before. The texture seemed a little firm for French Silk. It looked like an Ice cream filling. Also the chocolate flavor was not enogh so I added some chocolate hersheys syrup. Which made it very taste good. But again the texture was what was weird to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Used only two STICKS of butter. Made sure to mix for 5 minutes after each egg. Topped with real whipped cream. I've made this numerous times - so rich and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Good flavor but I'm not certain I'd bother making it again. I followed the recipe except for reducing the butter to 2 sticks instead of 2 lbs. I also used baker's sugar and pasteurized eggs, for added food safety. Unfortunately, despite using an extra fine sugar, it had a gritty consistency and it also came out overwhelmingly sweet. The relatively light brown color was disappointing for what should have been a rich chocolate pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I also used 2 sticks of butter instead of 2 cups of butter. I love the smooth, rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I don't like raw eggs, but this was very rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States