French Silk Chocolate Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This pie is awesome and very, very rich. It has gotten rave reviews where ever I take it. It is so easy to make and inexpensive as well. I added a layer of whipped topping over the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I have beeen making this pie for a very long time and my family loves it! But the amount of butter you called for is way to much and should be called down to two sticks of real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is twice the ingredients to a recipe our family has made for years, with exception of 2 c. buter. I believe, too, that it's meant to be 2 STICKS & not CUPS. Our recipe calls for 1 stick, 3/4c sugar & 2 eggs. We make it for EVERY special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
i used to get french silk pie at a little tea house in ohio when I was a kid and bleieve me ti was a dream! Been looking for a recipe just like it; rich, thick and os so good. Well here it is! I find at times if I dont want SO much filling for one pie I just make two and please a nieghbor or family member! hehe Enjoy thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Excellent if you like rich chocolate desserts. Easy to make, and I always beat each egg for 5 minutes as recommended. Recipe overfills a 10 inch graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I cut the recipe to 2 sticks of butter, and it's amazing. So smooth, so light, so rich. I did mix for 5 minutes/egg. Wow. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i thougth i lost my g-ma's recipe but here it is and yes 2 sticks not 2 cups. really good pie makes your head blow up with chocolatyness. to combat the grainyness leave the chocolate on the warmer side of luke warm it will help disolve the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This pie was great. Fluffy and rich. Beat butter (two cups) and sugar together for at least five min., until light and fluffy. I melted chocolate in microwave and then let it cool until it was thick but pourable, so as not to melt the butter. I used Egg Beaters (two small cups, the equivilent of four eggs) and beat them in in four additions. Used a whisk attachment on my Kitchenaid. The pie is fluffy and rich, tastes great. More than enough for a pie shell. Will make a mousse with excess, beating it into whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Turned out perfect. My family loved it! I did beat each egg for 5 minutes. This recipe made a lot! Will make it again. Used 2 sticks of butter not 2 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is definately a TOP 5 decadent dessert. This is one of my husbands favorites. Anyone I have ever served this to raves about it. Take the time to make sure you beat the eggs in well; it should have no sugar grit, and should feel and look like silk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States