French Silk Chocolate Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I lost my original French Silk recipe and needed one in a hurry. I printed off this version without really looking at it. It called for 2 cups of butter and I am wondering if it was meant to read 2 STICKS of butter. Also, the eggs called for are not listed in the ingredients, but at least I remembered it took 2. The consistency turned out very thickand solid, not light and fluffy, that's why I think the amount of butter called for is wrong. I knew there was something not quite right, but I had waited until the last minute, and thought maybe it was just me. The people at my Easter dinner tried one bite, and went straight for the cake I baked instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This is twice the ingredients to a recipe our family has made for years, with exception of 2 c. buter. I believe, too, that it's meant to be 2 STICKS & not CUPS. Our recipe calls for 1 stick, 3/4c sugar & 2 eggs. We make it for EVERY special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I have beeen making this pie for a very long time and my family loves it! But the amount of butter you called for is way to much and should be called down to two sticks of real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Excellent if you like rich chocolate desserts. Easy to make, and I always beat each egg for 5 minutes as recommended. Recipe overfills a 10 inch graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Too much butter and eggs. Cutting it down to two sticks is a good idea and 2 maybe 3 eggs instead of 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
i used to get french silk pie at a little tea house in ohio when I was a kid and bleieve me ti was a dream! Been looking for a recipe just like it; rich, thick and os so good. Well here it is! I find at times if I dont want SO much filling for one pie I just make two and please a nieghbor or family member! hehe Enjoy thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Yummy... I've been making this for years and it is fantastic... gotta make sure to beat the eggs a full five minutes or else it will be grainy... super easy and super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Turned out perfect. My family loved it! I did beat each egg for 5 minutes. This recipe made a lot! Will make it again. Used 2 sticks of butter not 2 cups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This pie is awesome and very, very rich. It has gotten rave reviews where ever I take it. It is so easy to make and inexpensive as well. I added a layer of whipped topping over the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is certainly a very very very rich dessert; I didn't want to tell my guests how much butter I put in it because I was afraid that would scare them from trying it. It was good, but I don't think it needed as much butter as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States