French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I used unsweetened chocolate squares, melted. A stand mixer helps, because of the long beating time. I remember my mother making this recipe when I was young, so was delighted to re-discover it. Actually serves 12, because a thin slice is all you need of this rich pie--unless you are a chocoholic like me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made this pie for Thanksgiving, and found it incredibly easy, fast and delicious. I followed the recipe as stated, and it came out just perfect. I served it with whipped cream and it was light, fluffy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is the best French Silk pie recipe I have ever used. It disappeared before my very eyes. Not one person in the family disliked it or had any negative comments. '' Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe is exactly what I've been looking for. It tastes DIVINE! I couldn't get it to set up, so mine turned out kind of runny. I ended up adding whipping cream (already whipped to soft peaks) and it made it not so runny, but then it started to look like it was curdling (I guess the whipping cream was trying to turn to butter and maybe I should have added the whipping cream directly from the carton to the filling and it would have done better). I remember making this approximate recipe before and I think that you have to beat the mixture for 5 minutes on high speed each time that you add a egg and that will allow it to set up appropriately (but don't be mad at me if that doesn't work). Either way, mine this time did not turn out to look very good, but it is LUSCIOUS. p.s. (the whipping cream ((I only used the small carton size)) did not change the taste of the French silk filling whatsoever when I added it) I was really afraid it would, but it didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I am more a cook than a baker but I have made this numerous times and it gets better each time! Beating is the key to success. I only have a hand mixer so I used that on high for about 5 minutes for creaming butter and sugar and 5 minutes after each egg. I don't know if there is a finer white sugar than just plain sugar, but if there is that would prbably be ideal. Even after my arm fell off from mixing this there was a little bit of a grit from the sugar. Serve it with some whipped cream and some chocolate curls - better than Bakers Square!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
It needs to be noted that each addtion of an egg needs to whipped, and whipped and whipped some more. Basicallly you can't whip it enough. If you don't take enough time to care for that the pie can sort of melt. It ends up being so smooth, definately deserving of the title "French Silk".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Very Good Recipe....always turns out great. I do have a high quality mixer that really beats it up nice and fluffy. I also only use real butter for this recipe-no margarine,etc....I like to top it with Cool Whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I am not sure why anyone's would turn out soupy unless they melted their butter . It was nice and stiff and tastes fantastic!!! I've already made 3 of them today for friends. Thanks for a super easy recipe. I also beat the ingredients for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Take note! If you're mixing and mixing and your mix is still a bit soupy, put the bowl in the freezer for 10-15 minutes. Then take it out and start mixing again, and it will firm up fast! I found this out by accident and it saved the day. The pie was smooth and rich, a hit for any french silk fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I had no idea that French Silk pie was so easy to make. I would have made one long before now. This recipe is very simple and elegant. I added a few chocolate shavings on top. I think it's essential to have a large stand mixer (I use a Kitchenaid) as you MUST beat on high speed for at least 5 minutes after the addition of each egg. I can't imagine doing this with a hand mixer. I also chose to cream the butter & sugar for 10 minutes prior to the addition of the eggs. Using baker's sugar (easy to find in your grocery store) is also a help as it is more fine than regular sugar. After adding the final egg I continued at high speed for another 10 minutes. The filling was light and fluffy and absolutely delicious. My husband licked the bowl. It also set up very quickly and I was able to serve it within an hour. I'll be making this one again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States