French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have used this recipe dozens of times and it is very simple and yummy! After creaming the butter and sugar together for 5 minutes, I use a kitchenaid mixer and beat each fresh, cold egg for 5 minutes. It has never turned out soupy for me. I also use regular sugar, and increase the cocoa to taste (6-8 TBS depending on where the pie is going). My suggestion is to add 6 tbs of cocoa, mix, then taste test - it should taste slightly stronger than you want the completed pie to taste. Even with regular sugar the pie has never been grainy, nor does it have a mousse like texture - it is very silky smooth. I prefer to top with store bought whipped cream piped on top, and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
For those having trouble with the pie setting - when first mixing the butter and sugar together - MAKE SURE NOT TO OVER MIX the two! The purpose of creaming is to just mix the two ingredients together. If you use a power mixer to do this, it will overmix the two and your base will end up too runny. You don't need to refrigerate the mixture in between, or wait too long when adding the eggs - just use a wire wisk and slowly and carefully whip the mixture together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
WONDERFUL PIE!! My pie did not set up after beating for nearly 10 min. after each egg. I tried the suggestion of placing the mixture in the freezer. I left it there for 20 min. and then beat again. It immediately set right up. Great idea! Update: I tried the Bakers Sugar as suggested, it's perfect for this recipe! Finally, I added probably 3 tbs. more cocoa than this recepie called for. Before adding the extra, it was more sweet than chocolaty and the extra cocoa seemed to balance it out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
I had no idea that French Silk pie was so easy to make. I would have made one long before now. This recipe is very simple and elegant. I added a few chocolate shavings on top. I think it's essential to have a large stand mixer (I use a Kitchenaid) as you MUST beat on high speed for at least 5 minutes after the addition of each egg. I can't imagine doing this with a hand mixer. I also chose to cream the butter & sugar for 10 minutes prior to the addition of the eggs. Using baker's sugar (easy to find in your grocery store) is also a help as it is more fine than regular sugar. After adding the final egg I continued at high speed for another 10 minutes. The filling was light and fluffy and absolutely delicious. My husband licked the bowl. It also set up very quickly and I was able to serve it within an hour. I'll be making this one again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesDiner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is an incredibly smooth and rich dessert--sinfully delicious. I started with room-temperature butter and creamed in ultra-fine baker's sugar for 5 minutes. Using egg beaters instead of eggs makes this a safer dessert because they are pasteurized. After beating 5 full minutes after each egg addition, I threw the filling in the freezer for 15 minutes, and then whipped it up for 2-3 final minutes. It set perfectly. I'm not much of a whipped cream fanatic, but I found that it was the perfect addition to this dessert, not only because it was a nice decorative touch, but it also countered some of the sweetness. A dusting of chocolate shavings, and its official: my pie was a beautiful masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Double-Oven Lovin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I was not very impressed with this dessert. I read all the reviews and knew I was going to be beating eggs forever, which I did... (5-8 min. after each egg). I thought it was going to be ok since it wasn't soupy like others described, but yet it wasn't exactly set either. I chilled it for an hour then put the whole thing in the freezer because I still wasn't too sure if it was setting or not? An hour later I put it back to the refrigerator until it was time to eat and it was like eating chocolate mouse. My guests said it was good but for me it was just "ok". Not too sweet and not too chocolately either and I had added 6-7 Tbsp. cocoa likes others had suggested. It was definately an easy dessert to prepare except the 30 minutes spent just beating eggs. The other dessert I made was "Better than sex cake" which took a lot less time to prepare and was so much more delightful and satisfying. My vote is for the "other" dessert... pass on this hit or miss option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Definitely easy to make. Increased cocoa powder to 8 TB and dusted cocoa powder over the top and it was beautiful. It was too sweat for me though. I felt like I was eating a pie fully filled with chocolate icing. Will reduce amount of sugar if I have a chance to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
It tasted great, but it never set. I'm guessing that I did something wrong so I'll try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Everyone had a hard time believing that I made this pie! It was so much like the Village Inn pie that my family always ordered for the holidays. I even added the perfect little chocolate curls on the top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
WOW words do not do this pie justice. I used a 9 inchdeep dish pie crust and 1.5-ed the ingredients. I used the Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa. I had no problem with the pie "setting". I creamed COLD butter and sugar for 10 minutes and anoter 5 minutes after each egg addition with my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I topped the pie with fresh whipped Whipped Cream and Chocolate shavings and curls. Next time I will use a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States