French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This pie is sooo decadent, my family insists I make it every holiday. Prepare it a day in advance to get the richest flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This is a favorite with my family! They love it. The first time I made this pie, I used regular sugar. It is a whole different pie with the bakers sugar--much better. You have to have patience to beat each egg in, it's worth the time spent. (I even used a hand mixer) I have found that this pie freezes well. This was good at Christmas time, I made several in one day and froze them to take to later gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Excellent! I accidentally used semisweet chocolate, but cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. The consistency was perfect right off the bat and just got better with the five minute beatings. I used 3 oz of chocolate, 3 eggs, and 3/4 c. butter since I had a 9 inch deep dish pie shell. I should have doubled the recipe. The only reason I can see that some didn't come out right was either the chocolate wasn't completely cooled, or they didn't follow the 5 minute between egg rule. I finished with whipped, sweetened bakers cream and grated chocolate on top. Everyone loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This pie is delicious and easy to make. I used my Kitchenaid to mix each egg for five minutes as recommended in the reviews. I think it would be aweful to do it by hand and I wouldn't have attempted it. I used the superfine sugar and only used the white of the the last egg since I had a good consistancy and I was afraid of messing it up. It set pretty quickly and was creamy and smooth. I shaved milk chocolate curls on top and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Don't know if it's me, but this pie didn't set and I did everything. From freezing it, to puting it in the fridge, to cooking it. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAN100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dollard-Des-Ormeaux, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
WONDERFUL PIE!! My pie did not set up after beating for nearly 10 min. after each egg. I tried the suggestion of placing the mixture in the freezer. I left it there for 20 min. and then beat again. It immediately set right up. Great idea! Update: I tried the Bakers Sugar as suggested, it's perfect for this recipe! Finally, I added probably 3 tbs. more cocoa than this recepie called for. Before adding the extra, it was more sweet than chocolaty and the extra cocoa seemed to balance it out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Don't worry about the raw eggs - use pasteurized eggs instead - buy them in cartons at the store. I used them and they were great! The amount to use for each egg will be on carton. FYI: Raw eggs in any recipe should make us think twice before licking the beater or the bowl! That is why slice and bake type cookies use pasteurized -- and that makes it okay to eat all that kind of raw dough you want!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I made this pie for my husband who can't eat refined sugars or white flours. I made it using a shortbread crust (1lb butter, 2/3C fructose, 3 C WW flour) and using Splenda in the filling instead of sugar. I also used eggbeaters instead of normal eggs to make it "safe" to eat. We loved it. It was the smoothest, fluffiest french silk pie I have ever had. I am making another for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This never set for me. I don't know if it's me or the recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States