French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Way too buttery! Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was pretty good. Next time I will use about 1 cup of sugar as it was too sweet for me. The trick I find, as I kept tasting it, is to just keep blending it for as long as possible. It will turn out really creamy, I promise!I will make this again as my husband devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This pie is GREAT!!! Very smooth, just chocolaty enough, just sweet enough. I didn't have ANY trouble getting it to set. It was perfectly fluffy and smooth. I can't have sugar or gluten, so I made a crust out of soy flour and almonds and used Splenda for baking instead of sugar. It turned out wonderfully. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Yummy Yummy! Except I used a chocolate premade crust. Thye first time that I made it though, I didn't whip it long enough and it was runny. BUT we froze it and it was a VERY rich, yummy desert pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLINMARCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buhler, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have used this recipe dozens of times and it is very simple and yummy! After creaming the butter and sugar together for 5 minutes, I use a kitchenaid mixer and beat each fresh, cold egg for 5 minutes. It has never turned out soupy for me. I also use regular sugar, and increase the cocoa to taste (6-8 TBS depending on where the pie is going). My suggestion is to add 6 tbs of cocoa, mix, then taste test - it should taste slightly stronger than you want the completed pie to taste. Even with regular sugar the pie has never been grainy, nor does it have a mousse like texture - it is very silky smooth. I prefer to top with store bought whipped cream piped on top, and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
My first French silk pie... to make OR eat! It turned out very nice. I took the advice of another reviewer about not overblending the butter and sugar. It works just fine to use a hand mixer, and the filling set up just fine without any chilling. The longer you mix the eggs, the airier the pie will be, so if you want a nice, dense pie, just mix them until they are fully incorporated. Overall... very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This recipe did not work for me the first time. I tried to hand whisk it and the result was chocolate soup. I tried again with a blender and the difference was huge. Not only did it work, but I had enough filling for 2 pies! I blended 5 minutes per egg and used regular sugar as the stores no longer carry baker's sugar where I live. End result was that my boyfriend just loved it. Said it was just like grandma's. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Excellent and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
For those having trouble with the pie setting - when first mixing the butter and sugar together - MAKE SURE NOT TO OVER MIX the two! The purpose of creaming is to just mix the two ingredients together. If you use a power mixer to do this, it will overmix the two and your base will end up too runny. You don't need to refrigerate the mixture in between, or wait too long when adding the eggs - just use a wire wisk and slowly and carefully whip the mixture together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
I was not very impressed with this dessert. I read all the reviews and knew I was going to be beating eggs forever, which I did... (5-8 min. after each egg). I thought it was going to be ok since it wasn't soupy like others described, but yet it wasn't exactly set either. I chilled it for an hour then put the whole thing in the freezer because I still wasn't too sure if it was setting or not? An hour later I put it back to the refrigerator until it was time to eat and it was like eating chocolate mouse. My guests said it was good but for me it was just "ok". Not too sweet and not too chocolately either and I had added 6-7 Tbsp. cocoa likes others had suggested. It was definately an easy dessert to prepare except the 30 minutes spent just beating eggs. The other dessert I made was "Better than sex cake" which took a lot less time to prepare and was so much more delightful and satisfying. My vote is for the "other" dessert... pass on this hit or miss option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States