French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Update: Tried adding 1 cup malt powder to the butter, sugar, cocoa mix before adding eggs....Yummy malted milk french silk! Make sure you blend in the eggs for at least a few minutes with the wire wisk attachment on a stand mixer or a hand mixer on HIGH. Makes it smooth as silk and no need for fine or powdered sugar. I used the paddle attachment the first time and it was soupy. Doubled the chocolate, cut out 1/2 cup sugar-the pie flavor is fantastic and still sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This recipe was pretty good...I used powdered sugar instead of granulated, and a few extra spoons of cocoa. I'm not sure that I liked the flavor maybe due to the cocoa powder? It seems that most chocolate silk pies use melted chocolate squares instead. I think if I make this pie again I will try using squares. But, it was okay. Better after a full day in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This recipe is delicious! It is even better than the French Silk Pie from the Village Inn, which used to be my favorite dessert! This tastes great with the Easy Whipped Cream recipe I found on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Followed directions exactly and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Good taste,but mine didnt set good,to runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This turned out amazing. I have made it 3 times and only once was it a little bit "soupy". I put it in the freezer and that seemed to do the trick. I wonder if anyone has tried this with some peppermint extract and crushed candycanes on the top? That would be a great Christmas pie. I love this recipe. Thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years now... but recently moved, and lost my recipe card! I came across this on a search... thankfully! The only thing I do differently, however, is that I use egg beaters. I have a hangup about eating raw eggs... and can't always find pasturized... so the eggbeaters work well as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Everyone had a hard time believing that I made this pie! It was so much like the Village Inn pie that my family always ordered for the holidays. I even added the perfect little chocolate curls on the top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
It tasted great, but it never set. I'm guessing that I did something wrong so I'll try making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Definitely easy to make. Increased cocoa powder to 8 TB and dusted cocoa powder over the top and it was beautiful. It was too sweat for me though. I felt like I was eating a pie fully filled with chocolate icing. Will reduce amount of sugar if I have a chance to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States