French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Argh. I love this recipe so much! I wish I could make it every single day, but I can't imagine eating that much pie would be good for me. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was VERY disappointed! I am a good cook, and I followed the recipe to a "t", and it turned out not to my liking. I have never been so disappointed! Really would like to know if I did something wrong and what it was :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made it for my employees for one of their birthdays and it was a big hit. I made two pies and one came out a lot smoother than the other- I think it was because I beat the ingredients longer in between adding eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Better than store-bought. Great texture, great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Lauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Amazing, smooth, and delicious! I did add a few extra T of cocoa per my family's taste, but it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
i like this one.... i let the butter soften but not get liquidy and i used cold eggs adding one every 5 min. while beating. I reduced sugar by 1/4 c and added 2 tbps more cocoa. very nice- and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmullins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Unfortunately, this recipe didn't turn out right at all. I think it was probably my fault due to one of the substitutions I made, so I'm giving the recipe a good rating. I used egg substitute instead of eggs and a 65% vegetable oil spread instead of butter. The pie wasn't runny, but the texture was horrible and we had to throw it out. (It still tasted good.) I don't think I'll try making this again because of the huge amount of time it requires just to beat in the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terri
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
WOW words do not do this pie justice. I used a 9 inchdeep dish pie crust and 1.5-ed the ingredients. I used the Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa. I had no problem with the pie "setting". I creamed COLD butter and sugar for 10 minutes and anoter 5 minutes after each egg addition with my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. I topped the pie with fresh whipped Whipped Cream and Chocolate shavings and curls. Next time I will use a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My first try at a French Silk pie and it turned out wonderful. I read the reviews and increased the cocoa to 8 Tbsp which was just right for us. I had no trouble getting it to set up. I did have to beat it a long time to get the sugar to incorporate. It was well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Yummm! I just made this with the following modifications to make (sugar free) Mint French silk pie : I simply subbed the sugar for Splenda, and subbed the vanilla for mint extract. Based on other reviewers recommendations I doubled the cocoa powder. Also possibly due to using Splenda there was no need to beat for 5 minutes after each egg - I beat for no more than 2 minutes. Turned out perfectly, smooth, fluffy, and delicious! Thanks! additional note - used this with "Graham Cracker Crust I" from this site (also made w/Splenda) and simply put the crust in the bottom of a 8x8 pan for more like a bar - very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States