French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I followed the instructions, and it turned out to be a soupy mess. It never set, even after being in the freezer for two hours. I eventually just served as was, and it was way too rich. None of my five dinner guests finished a whole slop. Will definitely not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Really easy! I ended up using 8 T. of cocoa powder, which made it very chocolaty and not too sweet. I added the eggs whole, not split into yolks and whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AELAINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This one didn't work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Super easy, and delicious! And I consider myself pretty picky about desserts like chocolate pie! I used my kitchen mixer and beat the eggs on high speed (not by hand). I didn't have any problems with the consistency. It worked out perfectly for me! (Butter was at room temp and eggs were right out of the fridge). I served this at Thanksgiving dinner, with high expectations from everyone. It did not disappoint! In fact, two of my "foodie" uncles assumed we bought it from the local bakery! I've added this to my book of tried and true, all-time-favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I loved the outcome, but getting there was a challenge. After adding each egg, I beat on high for 4-5 minutes and the end result was soup city and my high-powered food processor-cum-stand mixer was nearly overheated. So, I put it in the freezer for 20 minutes and, as others have said, it shaped right up in a couple of minutes. Silky texture, even w/regular sugar. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
yummy. whipped a long time in between each egg addition and little before. be patient. sets up nice. is fluffy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It was a little too sweet and is seemed grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
LOVE this pie...It's a big hit no matter where I take it. And hey, don't sweat the raw egg thing...I use egg beaters instead of raw eggs and it always turns out just fine...BUT, be sure to use real butter and not those soft, spreadable margarine substitutes or the pie will never set up and will be very soupy. As far as the "grainy" thing, as long as you beat the filling long enough per each egg/egg beater serving, it will be fine-- silky and smooth. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is my dads favorite pie. I make it strictly for him. Very easy and quick to make. I do decrease the amount of sugar and up the cocoa powder, per other comments. I find it is better when let chill for at least 3 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmocowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helena, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
excellent pie; very easy to make but it is necessary to increase the amount of cocoa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States