French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
awesome recipe!!! super easy to make!!!! i've made this several times and the responses i get are always good ones!!! i tweaked it like everyone else and added 6 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder instead of 4 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by umbrilynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a very good pie. I usually use 8 tablespoons of cocoa powder. And you can mix and match extracts. I made a peppermint french silk pie for christmas. It can tend to get grainy, depending on how you beat in the eggs. Though I haven't figured out what the best way to do that is yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great recipe and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I took the advice of others on here and increased the cocoa to 6tbs but I think 7-8 would have made it even better! I also increased the vanilla to 1 full tbs. I was worried at first that the sugar was going to remain grainy but once you started adding the eggs, the graininess disappeared and you were left with a delicious smooth texture! I snuck a taste before refrigerating and I can't wait to try it with the coolwhip on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
this was easy to make. My son love it. will be making it again for him. This is his fav pie. I did add extra coca powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is gastronomical harry carry but what a way to go!!! Thanks for a great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used the French Silk Choc. pie recipe from this site & it was perfect! However, this time I did not have the Baker's Chocolate, so I tried this one. Read reviews before beginning. Creamed butter & sugar only slightly with whisk & added other ingredients..mixed until blended. Then, after the addition of each egg, breat with mixer for 8min. I am VERY disappointed. It did not set up like the other recipe I used last time. The taste is good (added the extra, recommended cocoa), but it is flat. Not rich & creamy. Use the other recipe. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I'm going to give this recipe 1 star as written. I made it this evening and it was entirely too sweet and was lacking in chocolate flavor. I would probably double the cocoa powder next time and cut the sugar in half. Otherwise, it was a beautiful pie and it set up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
MMmmmmmm! Just was I was looking for. Topped with homemade whipped cream. My pie crust egdes sunk a little so I halved the filling and it still tasted like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I followed the instructions, and it turned out to be a soupy mess. It never set, even after being in the freezer for two hours. I eventually just served as was, and it was way too rich. None of my five dinner guests finished a whole slop. Will definitely not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States