French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Don't worry about the raw eggs - use pasteurized eggs instead - buy them in cartons at the store. I used them and they were great! The amount to use for each egg will be on carton. FYI: Raw eggs in any recipe should make us think twice before licking the beater or the bowl! That is why slice and bake type cookies use pasteurized -- and that makes it okay to eat all that kind of raw dough you want!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I made this pie for my husband who can't eat refined sugars or white flours. I made it using a shortbread crust (1lb butter, 2/3C fructose, 3 C WW flour) and using Splenda in the filling instead of sugar. I also used eggbeaters instead of normal eggs to make it "safe" to eat. We loved it. It was the smoothest, fluffiest french silk pie I have ever had. I am making another for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This never set for me. I don't know if it's me or the recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
this was absolutely wonderful - everyone raved about it even though it ended up a little too soupy for me. I DID whip it for 5 minutes after each egg and I ended up with it turning to soup after the third egg. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I made this pie using Splenda, EggBeaters, and a reduced fat graham cracker crust. I used real butter. The pie turned out very thick and creamy, which was wonderful. Unfortunately, it had a strong butter taste to it, even though I had taken JOSIE's suggestion and increased the cocoa by about 1.5 tbsp. I can see excellent potential in this pie though, and will definitely make it again, but reduce the butter to just 1/2 cup. I can't wait to taste the next one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
yummy! I had never made french silk before. I also didn't know that it had raw egg; i am not big on that idea so this is what i did instead. In a double boiler combine eggs (as other suggested three) and suger whisk until sugar is disolved and heat for approx. 5 min. whis super well by hand until light and fluffy. alow to cool and ribbin into your butter and cocoa about 1/3 at a time. Chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I've made this a few times and it really is a good recipe, but I'm giving it 4 stars because of one exception - too many eggs! The first time I made it, everything was going great until I added the fourth egg and then the whole thing turned to soup and wouldn't get fluffy again despite nearly 1/2 an hour of beating. My fix turned out to be increasing everything else by half to get it back to it's intended consistency. Now, whenever I make this pie I use my own measurements (1 and 1/2 cups butter, 2 and 1/4 cups sugar, 3/4 cup of cocoa and 3 tsp of vanilla with the 4 eggs) and it comes out rich and perfect with a great chocolate flavor. I pile the whole fluffy mixture high into my own 9" pie crust and top it with fresh whipped cream, chocolate curls and a slight dusting of cocoa powder, and it's always gone within a few minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Great Pie! All that was heard in my kitchen between bites was "mmmm...good pie" I made it for a friend's birthday so to dress it up I piped cool whip on top and topped that off with shavings of chocolate (a chocolate bar and potato peeler worked well for the chocolate curls) Next time I will whip the ingredients a little longer or get bakers sugar as was suggested by someone else...it was a little gritty but still rich, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Wonderfully rich and creamy -- the whole family loved it. Next time, I will use the whisk attachment on my Kitchenaid at the end to fluff it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This was delicious and easy to make! I used everyone's advice and let each egg beat for about 5 minutes in my mixer. I did end up with more than enough filling for my pie crust, so I made a couple french silk pie puddings (why mess with a crust when it's the filling you want! HaHa!) I plan on making it a lot for family too since it passed the husband taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katertater

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States