French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I made this pie for my husband who can't eat refined sugars or white flours. I made it using a shortbread crust (1lb butter, 2/3C fructose, 3 C WW flour) and using Splenda in the filling instead of sugar. I also used eggbeaters instead of normal eggs to make it "safe" to eat. We loved it. It was the smoothest, fluffiest french silk pie I have ever had. I am making another for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This never set for me. I don't know if it's me or the recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
this was absolutely wonderful - everyone raved about it even though it ended up a little too soupy for me. I DID whip it for 5 minutes after each egg and I ended up with it turning to soup after the third egg. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Rella Frank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I made this pie using Splenda, EggBeaters, and a reduced fat graham cracker crust. I used real butter. The pie turned out very thick and creamy, which was wonderful. Unfortunately, it had a strong butter taste to it, even though I had taken JOSIE's suggestion and increased the cocoa by about 1.5 tbsp. I can see excellent potential in this pie though, and will definitely make it again, but reduce the butter to just 1/2 cup. I can't wait to taste the next one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
yummy! I had never made french silk before. I also didn't know that it had raw egg; i am not big on that idea so this is what i did instead. In a double boiler combine eggs (as other suggested three) and suger whisk until sugar is disolved and heat for approx. 5 min. whis super well by hand until light and fluffy. alow to cool and ribbin into your butter and cocoa about 1/3 at a time. Chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I've made this a few times and it really is a good recipe, but I'm giving it 4 stars because of one exception - too many eggs! The first time I made it, everything was going great until I added the fourth egg and then the whole thing turned to soup and wouldn't get fluffy again despite nearly 1/2 an hour of beating. My fix turned out to be increasing everything else by half to get it back to it's intended consistency. Now, whenever I make this pie I use my own measurements (1 and 1/2 cups butter, 2 and 1/4 cups sugar, 3/4 cup of cocoa and 3 tsp of vanilla with the 4 eggs) and it comes out rich and perfect with a great chocolate flavor. I pile the whole fluffy mixture high into my own 9" pie crust and top it with fresh whipped cream, chocolate curls and a slight dusting of cocoa powder, and it's always gone within a few minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Great Pie! All that was heard in my kitchen between bites was "mmmm...good pie" I made it for a friend's birthday so to dress it up I piped cool whip on top and topped that off with shavings of chocolate (a chocolate bar and potato peeler worked well for the chocolate curls) Next time I will whip the ingredients a little longer or get bakers sugar as was suggested by someone else...it was a little gritty but still rich, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Wonderfully rich and creamy -- the whole family loved it. Next time, I will use the whisk attachment on my Kitchenaid at the end to fluff it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This was delicious and easy to make! I used everyone's advice and let each egg beat for about 5 minutes in my mixer. I did end up with more than enough filling for my pie crust, so I made a couple french silk pie puddings (why mess with a crust when it's the filling you want! HaHa!) I plan on making it a lot for family too since it passed the husband taste test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katertater

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This is one of my favorite chocolate pie recipes. I've made this twice using the exact amount of cocoa powder and the second time I upped it to about 6 or 7 Tbls. I like it better with the extra cocoa powder...but I'm a chocolate lover. Definitely beat each egg for at least 3 minutes if not more. I've done both and it's come out perfect each time. This is a gem Katie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States