French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I received. this recipe from the pastry chef in a famous restaurant in New York City, NY. 1 cup unsalted butter 1 1/2 cup white sugar, granulated 2 - 2 oz. squares unsweetened chocolate 1 tsp. vanilla or almond extract 5 room temperature large eggs 1 - 8 in. Rich pastry shell, baked Whipping cream for topping Shaved unsweetened chocolate for decoration. Pie will cut smooth, dense and rich. 1. Melt 2 squares (4 oz.) unsweetened chocolate and cool. 2. Beat 1 cup unsalted butter with 1 1/2 cups white granulated sugar. 3. Beat until light and fluffy. Take small amount of mixture and rub between your thumb and finger. If you cannot feel the grains of sugar that is the right fluffy consistency. 4. Add cooled melted chocolate and 1 tsp. vanilla or 1 tsp. almond flavour. 5. Beat into butter mixture. 6. Add 1 room temperature egg into mixture for 5 min. To incorporate. Do this for each egg. 7. Pour into a half butter half lard pastry shell that has been baked at 425 F. Until very pale beige about 15 min. 8. Refrigerate for at least 2-3 hours. 9. Top with whipped cream and shave chocolate over top. Serves 8. Enjoy! Absolutely a pastry chef's masterpiece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Loved it! Very silky & rich with a deep dark chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This pie amazing I usually get French silk pies from henhouse from the tippins brand and I tried making this one and it was ten times better it tasted a lot fresher, but I would and a lot more coco powder if you have left over pie filling it is great to use to make little mouses all you do is put the filling in a little cup then put whipped cream and chocolate chips on top.I hope you will love it as much as I did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a good chocolate pie. I did use 8Tbs cocoa powder, and because I was a bit short on butter I used about 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter and beat that into the mixture. It added a nice depth of flavor without overpowering the chocolate. I did notice the texture was gritty as other reviewers have said, but I think next time I will use bakers sugar as suggested which should help with texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good as written, but I do prefer a richer chocolate taste so I doubled the cocoa to 1/2 cup. (4 Tbs = 1/4 Cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy and so delicious! Turned out sky high and gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaymurryum
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I had read all the reviews and was nervous at first about the eggs not wanting to cooperate, and the filling being gritty. However, none of that happened! It was smooth and silky and was gobbled up by everyone within minutes. The only thing I changed in the recipe was the amount of cocoa. I didn't want the filling to be teeth-meltingly sweet, so I increased the cocoa powder up to 6 tablespoons. Otherwise, everything was perfect. What I may suggest to those having a problem, is to be sure that your butter is at room temperature. That may solve the egg problem. Anyhow, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaymurryum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This french silk pie is absolutely divine. I have been using this recipe for years and I haven't had any issues with regular sugar making the pie grainy. It may be grainy initially, but that will go away. This is always a hit everywhere I take it. Within minutes it's literally devoured. :) If you need a quick, delicious pie for any function... this is it! And, for those who don't like sweet desserts... even they love a small piece of this pie! :) Happy Making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Loved it! I made a second one substituted with 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 vanilla extract and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
As written, this is a solid 4-star recipe. It makes more than enough filling for a 9-inch pie if you follow the instructions (i.e. throughly cream the butter & sugar, then beat well between each egg addition). To bring it up to a 5-star chocolate lover's recipe, I added 4 more tablespoons of Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States