French Silk Chocolate Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This is a good chocolate pie. I did use 8Tbs cocoa powder, and because I was a bit short on butter I used about 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter and beat that into the mixture. It added a nice depth of flavor without overpowering the chocolate. I did notice the texture was gritty as other reviewers have said, but I think next time I will use bakers sugar as suggested which should help with texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very good as written, but I do prefer a richer chocolate taste so I doubled the cocoa to 1/2 cup. (4 Tbs = 1/4 Cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy and so delicious! Turned out sky high and gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaymurryum
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I had read all the reviews and was nervous at first about the eggs not wanting to cooperate, and the filling being gritty. However, none of that happened! It was smooth and silky and was gobbled up by everyone within minutes. The only thing I changed in the recipe was the amount of cocoa. I didn't want the filling to be teeth-meltingly sweet, so I increased the cocoa powder up to 6 tablespoons. Otherwise, everything was perfect. What I may suggest to those having a problem, is to be sure that your butter is at room temperature. That may solve the egg problem. Anyhow, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaymurryum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This french silk pie is absolutely divine. I have been using this recipe for years and I haven't had any issues with regular sugar making the pie grainy. It may be grainy initially, but that will go away. This is always a hit everywhere I take it. Within minutes it's literally devoured. :) If you need a quick, delicious pie for any function... this is it! And, for those who don't like sweet desserts... even they love a small piece of this pie! :) Happy Making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirkzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Loved it! I made a second one substituted with 1/4 tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 vanilla extract and it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
As written, this is a solid 4-star recipe. It makes more than enough filling for a 9-inch pie if you follow the instructions (i.e. throughly cream the butter & sugar, then beat well between each egg addition). To bring it up to a 5-star chocolate lover's recipe, I added 4 more tablespoons of Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have made this several times & I still love it! I used 8 Tbsp of cocoa powder instead of 4. It's so yummy! I'll definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
As written, the pie is too rich for my tastes. I have a very similar recipe which uses 2 squares unsweetened baking chocolate for 1/2 recipe. Directions are the same except after beating in the eggs, fold in 8 oz light whipped topping. So it is 1 stick butter, 3/4 c sugar, 2 melted sq. unsweetened chocolate, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, and 8 oz light cool whip or other brand topping. This makes my family's all time favorite pie.... the topping lightens it enough that it is not too rich. This was the first time I tried a recipe with no topping, and using cocoa, and I will go back to my tried and true version. Sorry. Flavor is delicious, but we could only eat a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I use evaporated cane sugar for everything and it is a wee bit grainy. To get around the grainy thing, I toss th sugar in the food processor for a whirl or 5 and that takes care of that! I also doubled the amount of cocoa powder for this wonderful pie. I totally disagree with the reviewer that claims this pie is not for chocolate lovers as it turns out smooth,,thick and tasty! Just what this chocolate fiend needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States