French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I've made this pie several times now--most recently with a chocolate graham cracker crust--Yum! As some reviewers have said, the recipe doesn't make a ton of filling--but it's so rich! I top it with fresh whipped cream and to me, it's the perfect chocolate pie. If the mix doesn't fluff up enough--as happened to me once in a very hot kitchen--try putting the bowl in the refrigerator for a little while and then beat some more. Worked great for me. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Good flavor, but I must have done something wrong; mine did not set well, and I ended up having to freeze it--no one complained; French Silk Ice Cream Pie was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Wow, I am so bummed. I tried so hard to make this recipe. I totally destroyed it! :( I will try again though, when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Good recipe. Found it too sweet though. I would only use half a cup of sugar, using half of it for the egg white meringue. I would also make sure to thoroughly mix the sugar into the butter mixture so that there is no grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Sugar-ier and heavier than I'd hoped. Still on the prowl for the perfect French silk chocolate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great recipe. But there are some things to consider. If you are going to ad a layer of whip cream doubling the recipe may not be necessary. If you do double it only add 1 cup of sugar total other wise it is way too sweet. It is not necessary to double the butter however leave that at 1/2 cup. I also had the problem of the pie tasting granular. And just when I was about to toss it out and start over with powdered sugar the granules went away. The key is to beat it on high not medium for 5 minutes each egg. I didn't use real eggs either I used the stuff in the box. Turned out great. If you don't have a stand mixer I would say to use powdered sugar off of the bat. If you do have a stand mixer make it!! It is a great pie but beat the living daylights out of it so its not grainy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bay City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and got a runny pie that never set. It seemed like it was missing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnyrac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This pie was really easy to make! But it came out way too sweet because I doubled the recipe like many of the reviews suggested. My suggestion - if you don't want to be eating granules and crunching on every bite of your 'silk' pie, leave the sugar to about one cup. Other than that, it would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Super easy to make and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I only had a hand mixer, so that may have contributed, but overall, had to add an extra egg, and the sugar remained grainy in the end product :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States