French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good! You really have to beat it for the full 5 minutes after each egg or it is gritty and of weird texture, I like to double the recipe to make the pie fuller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
this pie was amazing! Definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Q2GGIRL
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was my first time making a chocolate pie of any kind. I was worried because it came out soupy and not thick like the video shows. So it was only one inch worth in a 6oz chocolate cookie crust. I served it with whipped cream and chocolate shavings and I must say it was delicious! I would definitely make this again. The chocolate cookie crust made it worth it. Very smooth and not grainy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
When I made a lot of changes to this recipe it came out great. I did what Barb suggested, whipping in two more egg whites and 1/4 a cup of sugar. Also, I used cocoa powder and some melted chocolate to make a greater chocolate taste. Came out great :3 I can't give this a 5 stars because the recipe itself was not completed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was really tasty but I agree that its a bit on the skimpy side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
A tiny bit gritty. I needed to mix longer I'm guessing. Other than that, came out great!! Nice and smooth and a wonderful present for a very good friend of mine who said his favorite was French Silk. Will try again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This turned out great considering it was my first french silk pie. It was on the rich side and just a tad gritty from the sugar, but it didn't bother me. I followed the recipe exactly and found that the mixture filled the pie crust perfectly since we were topping it with whipped cream; however, if you are not planning on topping it with whipped cream you might increase the amount of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Followed the instructions to the letter including using an 8" pie pan and we had no problems. Was just the right amount of filling and I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours and it set perfectly. I slapped some whipped topping on before serving and everyone raved. It only took us two days to finish the first one between two people and the next day my husband asked if I could make another! He said it was his new favorite dessert. Granny would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Seriously decadent! I followed the recipe exactly, except I made 1.5x the filling. It ended up filling the crust to normal pie depth. However, my dinner guests thought it too rich to eat a regular sized slice (1/8 of pie). Next time I will either cut pie into 16ths or use original filling amount and use whip cream to bring filling to crust height. Or maybe I will make these as little tartlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The recipe was VERY easy to follow. It provides just enough filling which is fine by me, but I found the dessert too sweet. I probably won't make it again. And yes, if you beat each egg for 5 minutes, the filing becomes fluffy like its supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States